Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach) - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2008, 12:46 PM   #31 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

you've got a maxtor. thats why
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 12:51 PM   #32 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

whoa... i just did this and my score was awwwful... and i have a Raptor X!
i didnt close any of my open programs right now tho... would that make a huge difference?
or is there anything else to do to bring my score up to where it should be?
post a few things, ill try em, then post back with a screenshot of my score... thanks - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 09:00 PM   #33 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

apok, i've got a random access of 6.7ms. suck it. but my other scores blow.. not sure why....
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:13 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

^lmao, that really makes my 16.7 sound bad lol. Which it is....really...bad.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:22 PM   #35 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

eh, i'm rocking an IBM UltraStar 15k SCSI drive. so don't feel too pwned.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 11:08 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
apok, i've got a random access of 6.7ms. suck it. but my other scores blow.. not sure why....
Pics or it didn't happen.
*edit*
officially, my Raptor's seek time is 5.2ms
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 10:52 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

why do u neede to multiply 1024?
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 11:52 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
why do u neede to multiply 1024?
it's 1024 instead of 1000, because that's how computers count..... they use binary (base 2)
2^10... (or the number of possible values in a 10-bit binary number) = 1024
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 05:13 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

whats wrong with maxtors peter?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 05:16 PM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
whats wrong with maxtors peter?
Nothing anymore, they have a bad reputation though. Their recent stuff is not bad at all and your benchmarks prove it.

As for the burst speed, did you enable write caching? Is the drive SATA II?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario dannyual767 Laptops and Notebooks 8 04-25-2008 09:18 AM
OEM or Retail Box Hard Drive kchan99 System Upgrades 5 04-10-2008 09:26 AM
XP using wrong hard drive Pericles Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-21-2007 03:55 AM
Can't Install Windows to Hard Drive waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-19-2007 04:20 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.