Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2008, 08:39 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)



Here is my seagate 7200.11 500GB drive.
__________________

jantar is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 08:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

I just saw something, the MB/s should be 1,024,000 bytes per second

and 1gb = 1,024,000,00 (look at the right box) next to the bar graph
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Here's mine... will try another round later with all my drives whilst I'm idle =D.

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

1 MB = 1024 * 1024 = 1,048,576 bytes;
1 GB = 1024 * 1024 * 1024 = 1,073,741,824 bytes.
Obviously hdtach makers think othervise.
jantar is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Oh ya you're right I've have to multiply by 1024 to get from KB's to MB's argh.. I'm losing it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:37 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Yes, you just have to remember one number: 1024. Another way to remember is:
1 KB = 2^10
1 MB = 2^20
1 GB = 2^30 ... and so on
jantar is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 11:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

Single WD Raptor 74GB (ADFD)

I win in seek time (called Random Access)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 11:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

im gonna have to post pone the RAID-0 SCSI pwnage until i get out of school. so just keep that top spot open to me :P
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 12:34 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)

lol wow, this hdd sucks more then i though.

the sequential read had a low of about 7 mb and a high of about 67mb.

The burst speed was 116.1mb/s

random access was 16.7ms

and cpu utilization was 7%

I would have posted a screenshot but i have dial up and it would take a long time so this is easier.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 12:31 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Post your Hard Drive Benchmark (HD Tach)



I'm jsut not sure about my burst speeds...
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario dannyual767 Laptops and Notebooks 8 04-25-2008 09:18 AM
OEM or Retail Box Hard Drive kchan99 System Upgrades 5 04-10-2008 09:26 AM
XP using wrong hard drive Pericles Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-21-2007 03:55 AM
Can't Install Windows to Hard Drive waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-19-2007 04:20 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.