a post in the future.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 08:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah that's true. I was just looking at Socket 7 and how it's similar to Socket 370 except it has quite a few less pins....hey major I got a Celeron here that's 566MHz thats callin out yer name .....it'd be a massive upgrade considering what you've got.....double the speed baby! lol Problem is I took all the jumpers off my grandma's compaq motherboard cause i figured, eh, I could always use a few extra jumpers around, but besides that it was compaq built so the mobo sucks anyway.

That and......well god knows how much it'd be to ship to the netherlands
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think it won't be cheap to ship to the Netherlands.

BTW, I have lots of spare jumpers...I still need to replace some on my mobo...I damaged them a little when I OC'ed it.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 11:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

well i dont think we stayed on topic much but whatever , i was quite interested in everyone's opinion on waiting til dual core, and not whether 64 bit computing is the future... this i already know, all im asking is if you guys think that anyone on here will keep the same comp for 3 years if they built it today(using as their main computer)? of course excepting MAJOR here... , running xp on that just kills me, even tho on tomshardware they had a 100mhz pentium running xp with 512 megs of ram, couldnt do much with it they said.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a lot of the old computers at my school have got XP on them, and they are just soooooooo slow.
it takes literally 5 minutes to just log on on one of them
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah lol sorry for going off topic...I'm supposed to be guarding against that.....so get back on track fellas!
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 03:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yeah..our computers at school are slow too....this is because they are loaded with lots of crap like novell networking and thoudands of programs to load remote drives, restrict user settings, remote desktop etc.

and they usually have cheap HD's
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 10:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

nm, there is no getting back on track apparently, Themajor is off topic again , oh well.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 11:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Leonidas
well i dont think we stayed on topic much but whatever , i was quite interested in everyone's opinion on waiting til dual core, and not whether 64 bit computing is the future... this i already know, all im asking is if you guys think that anyone on here will keep the same comp for 3 years if they built it today(using as their main computer)? of course excepting MAJOR here... , running xp on that just kills me, even tho on tomshardware they had a 100mhz pentium running xp with 512 megs of ram, couldnt do much with it they said.
sorry

Wel...to get on-topic again.

I think for the next few years 64bit will be powerful enough. I don't think we need dual-core right now and I think it will be too expensive anyways.

About Intel Dual-Core:
http://testsite.anandtech.com/cpuchi...spx?i=2252&p=1
http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...18_115001.html

About AMD Dual-Core:
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corporate/V...~86455,00.html
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

« Molex | processor »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.