Post Althon 64 3000+ OC's - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2005, 09:42 PM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

No, they aren't trying to make more money IMO, they're trying to save more money

What I'm saying is during the initial production of a 3000+, rather than trying to make a core run at exactly 1.8GHz at exactly such and such vcore and only have a say 1 in 10 chance of success, they try and make a core run at say 2.2GHz at such and such vcore and increase the chances of having it run at 1.8Ghz at sch and such vcore to 9 out of 10

This is all guesswork though
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 09:45 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Or demand for certain chips is higher and they lower the stock speed to keep up with that demand :-p
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

charles got it (you should know this by now gaara! BAKA!)

When theres a high demand for the lower chips, they simply take chips that would otherwise be a 3500+ or a 3800+ but label it a 3000+ or 3200+ to fill that demand....as time goes on the demand becomes less and then they start marking CPU's that barely qualify as a 3200+ or 3000+ and send them out...after all as long as it hits the spec'd 1.8GHz or 2GHz then it's good to ship
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 11:18 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

that's disappointing. Too bad they try to refine their techniques. They should keep shipping the quicker 3000+ and satisfy the geek factor of the market. Seems like most of the real geeks support AMD anyway.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:46 AM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

maybe i shuold have waited until the 3200+ was out of stock then once it was in stock i should have bought it ....
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.