Possible Water Cooling. Questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default Possible Water Cooling. Questions.

Well I have some questions.

I have about 90 dollars, and I am going to continue saving till I get into the high 200's.

Any way.

I want the typical GPU CPU Cooling.


I have the perfect case to do it (cm stacker), and I have a pretty good power supply to handle it as well.


Any way, I know Petras Tech shop is the place to buy.


But I have some questions.

1. If I were to buy watercooling parts for my GPU only, would I be able to add CPU to the mix, like if I bought the waterblock and the tubes and clamps?

2. Is it common to watercool the northbridge?


I figured I could save up more money to where I could get watercooling for my GPU first, or CPU, which ever, then add the other one when I have the money. Is it possible?


thanks
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

1) Do you mean start out with a complete GPU-only loop then add CPU later? Yes, you can do this, but it would be more of a hassle than doing both of them in one go. Less leak testing. Although, understandable why you would need to do it. What you'd have to do is after your GPU loop is complete, and you've bought your CPU waterblock, get a large bucket. With the computer powered off, gently remove the waterblock from your GPU. You can either just cut the tubing, or take off the clamp and work the tube off. Either way, make sure the bucket catches the water. Put the CPU WB in, connect all the tubing correctly, and you're set.

2) Common? Not largely. A lot of people like to watercool the NB, but not everyone does it. I'd say if your budget can allow it, and you want to get the best out of your parts, go for it. If your budget can't stomach it, don't bother. Looking around XS, it's mainly for the people who could afford it. A couple people swear that cooling the NB is just a restriction in your loop while others would swear it helps you get an extra 200MHz.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
1) Do you mean start out with a complete GPU-only loop then add CPU later? Yes, you can do this, but it would be more of a hassle than doing both of them in one go. Less leak testing. Although, understandable why you would need to do it. What you'd have to do is after your GPU loop is complete, and you've bought your CPU waterblock, get a large bucket. With the computer powered off, gently remove the waterblock from your GPU. You can either just cut the tubing, or take off the clamp and work the tube off. Either way, make sure the bucket catches the water. Put the CPU WB in, connect all the tubing correctly, and you're set.

2) Common? Not largely. A lot of people like to watercool the NB, but not everyone does it. I'd say if your budget can allow it, and you want to get the best out of your parts, go for it. If your budget can't stomach it, don't bother. Looking around XS, it's mainly for the people who could afford it. A couple people swear that cooling the NB is just a restriction in your loop while others would swear it helps you get an extra 200MHz.

Thanks, sounds good.


I guess I'm going to just get them in one order. I want to save the hassle.


Also, this may be a really dumb question, but what happens when the PC is off. Does the water sit there, or does it go somewhere? (reservoir?)

I'l be doing some extensive reading on this subject so forgive me for now
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
I'l be doing some extensive reading on this subject so forgive me for now
This is why i like you.

The water just kinda chills (pun intended) in the loop. Only moving where gravity wants it to go.

There are tons of guides on XS, in case you haven't checked.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=119699
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=54331
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=41495
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=75873
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=67179

MaxxxRacer is the man. BTW, the last link is included just as an FYI. DangerDen (www.dangerden.com) or Petra's Tech Shop (www.petrastechshop.com) are the stores you need to go to for your parts. Being in America, it helps. Petra is a user on XS, and he is very well-known. Great store. DangerDen is probably the most well-known store for WC.

The things i'd suggest to you right now are, one, when you get your rad, soak it in isopropyl alcohol for 5 hours. A bunch of people like to go for 12 hours, just to be safe. Two, once your loop is all set up, leak test for a full 24 hours. This simply means just have it all connected and running for 24 hours. If any puddles (or worse) develop, fix the leak. Three, you can almost never read enough. Though, i feel that reading through Maxxx's guides, you should be set for a basic loop.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
This is why i like you.

The water just kinda chills (pun intended) in the loop. Only moving where gravity wants it to go.

There are tons of guides on XS, in case you haven't checked.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=119699
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=54331
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=41495
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=75873
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=67179

MaxxxRacer is the man. BTW, the last link is included just as an FYI. DangerDen (www.dangerden.com) or Petra's Tech Shop (www.petrastechshop.com) are the stores you need to go to for your parts. Being in America, it helps. Petra is a user on XS, and he is very well-known. Great store. DangerDen is probably the most well-known store for WC.

The things i'd suggest to you right now are, one, when you get your rad, soak it in isopropyl alcohol for 5 hours. A bunch of people like to go for 12 hours, just to be safe. Two, once your loop is all set up, leak test for a full 24 hours. This simply means just have it all connected and running for 24 hours. If any puddles (or worse) develop, fix the leak. Three, you can almost never read enough. Though, i feel that reading through Maxxx's guides, you should be set for a basic loop.

Ahh I see. Yeah that would make sense.


I saw those links, got very overwhelmed considering the time, so I bookmarked them for tommorow when I have time to actually sit down and read them thoroughly.


Im pretty glad I have the Stacker, because it opens up tons of options. Like I can possibly go dual rad's and such.


I guess I should start laying down an idea...


Also which size tubing is the way to go these days? Those fat tubes filled with UV look sexy
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya, I have been reading up on xs about w/c a for a while now. And the guy Maxxx definately seems to know everything.

Tubing that is commonly used now is 1/2 inch inner diameter.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Stupid reset form button, erasin' my post! So now you get the slightly condensed version.

Judging by this thread, most people go with 1/2" ID. Tiny tubes just looks weird.

I actually want the Stacker, simply because of the room. You could easy do 2x dual 120 rads in that baby.

Take your time reading the links. You can do it in an evening, like myself, or over a couple days. Whichever works best for you.

Most of all, have fun! WCing opens doors to more OCing possibilities. There are a couple routes you can take to get into even more extreme OCing. If you're interested, let me know. Even though you can find most of the info at XS, a bit of it is just kinda randomly thrown in here and there.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Ah ok. Thanks.


Yeah seriously, that stuff is really sweet looking.


So I guess the main question is, How much should I be willing to spend...



Should Upwards of 200$ give me a solid setup?


EDIT: Yeah the stacker is pretty insane. Tons and Tons of room.




Looks like a mATX in a mid tower
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

I just finished setting up my watercooling rig Anthrax. I read every guide over at XS, i've talked to Petra and several other guys over there in the past 2 weeks. I ended up buying the parts I posted on here. Just search my name and you'll see the post. One thing I can say, use a T-line, not a res. It is way easier and less messy, who cares if it takes longeer to bleed. And if you have any questions or want some pics, just let me know. Most important, make sure you set everything up within the case but obviously not connected, then let everything run for a good 24hrs to make sure there are no leaks. I had a tiny leak in one of my MCW60's that I didn't see until the next day. And follow Maxxracer's setup guide including cleaning your rad. I flushed mine several times with distilled and vinnegar and all kinds of stuff comes out. Good luck and enjoy the amazing temps! I have my E6600 at 3.72GHZ and on 100% load I barely go above 60C.
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waytoosmall
I just finished setting up my watercooling rig Anthrax. I read every guide over at XS, i've talked to Petra and several other guys over there in the past 2 weeks. I ended up buying the parts I posted on here. Just search my name and you'll see the post. One thing I can say, use a T-line, not a res. It is way easier and less messy, who cares if it takes longeer to bleed. And if you have any questions or want some pics, just let me know. Most important, make sure you set everything up within the case but obviously not connected, then let everything run for a good 24hrs to make sure there are no leaks. I had a tiny leak in one of my MCW60's that I didn't see until the next day. And follow Maxxracer's setup guide including cleaning your rad. I flushed mine several times with distilled and vinnegar and all kinds of stuff comes out. Good luck and enjoy the amazing temps! I have my E6600 at 3.72GHZ and on 100% load I barely go above 60C.

Awesome man, thanks!
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.