Is it possible to run two different frequencies? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2010, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

Let me elaborate... I think I know the answer, but you never know...

My MoBo says I can only run 1 channel at 1066Mhz, but if I use both channels it forces the frequency down to 800Mhz for both channels to keep it stable. Is there anyway to run one channel at 1066Mhz and one at 800Mhz since I am using both channels?

I think I know the answer, but I just want to see if it can be done or if I'll screw up the space time continuum or something if I try.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 10-03-2010, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

I would try overclocking the RAM to see if I could force it to run at higher speeds.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-03-2010, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

I OCed it before and I kept getting all kinds of BSoD's.... it's part of the reason I left it at 800Mhz...
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 10-03-2010, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

Well, you may just be stuck with it, then. 800MHz isn't too bad for DDR2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

There is no way to run at two different frequencies unless you had two different memory controllers.

Be happy you are running at DDR2 800, I am running at DDR2 750 for some reason....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Is it possible to run two different frequencies?

yep sorry, because all channels are controlled by a single memory controller there's no way to run at more than one frequency.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combined Frequencies RAM zerokid51 System Upgrades 2 11-02-2008 11:16 PM
HT/FSB and RAM frequencies DoomUK Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-20-2005 01:24 PM
RAM Clock Frequencies AEONFLUCKZ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 12-17-2004 11:43 AM
Frequencies ChipSet Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-18-2004 11:24 PM
Of all the fugging frequencies... freechus9 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 02-25-2003 08:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.