is it possible to overclock?? advice plz?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default is it possible to overclock my comp??? advice plz??

My comp stats are on bottom

The thing is, the temp is higher then i expected. It's at about 107 when doing nothing and goes over 120 when playing games. i want to clock it to about 2.0~2.2 ghz but i can't trust the temps, they're too high rn't they?

I have 4 case fans, a pci fan with 3 fans on it, and a huge *** cpu fan. with this much fans, i thought it would be at the low 90s, or possibly the 80s. BUt not even close.

so do you think overclocking it would be possible??
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: is it possible to overclock?? advice plz??

Quote:
Originally posted by geo3tech
My comp stats are on bottom

The thing is, the temp is higher then i expected. It's at about 107 when doing nothing and goes over 120 when playing games. i want to clock it to about 2.0~2.2 ghz but i can't trust the temps, they're too high rn't they?

I have 4 case fans, a pci fan with 3 fans on it, and a huge *** cpu fan. with this much fans, i thought it would be at the low 90s, or possibly the 80s. BUt not even close.

so do you think overclocking it would be possible??
With those kinda fans you should have a lower temp, so I would suggest finding out why the temps are high and then worrying about OCing
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to DaHoboFest
Default

well, is your cpu cooler attatched correctly with arctic silver?
DaHoboFest is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

also try to use celcius degress instead of farenheight
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to MelloYellow
Default

That's really dumbfounding. You should have those kinds of temps with just a single crappy oem fan
MelloYellow is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

ya.. I know something is wrong with the cpu fan. ]
I used arctic silver thermal compound, put it on the heatsink, spread it out evenly with a piece of paper and pressed it back on. I don't really know what's wrong.

Could it be that the heatsink isn't properly touching the cpu???
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 12:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

okay.. i teared down my comp and reinstalled the cpu fan. and now it's at 95 degrees farenheit with the case at 84 degrees when doing nothing.

I also changed the temps to celsius and i'm getting 36 for the cpu and 29 for the case.

so would that be possible to overclock my comp?? specs are on bottom.

If i would be able to overclock, what temp and what ghz should i probably stop overclocking it???
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

People should really remember this equation for converting Fahrenheit to Celsius:

Subtract 32, multiply by 5, and divide by 9.


So under load you are getting a temperature of around 48.8C? [size=0.5]Idle around 41.6C?[/size]

In my opinion you could overclock a little, be careful of what you are doing and really watch the temperatures when you increase the voltage.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
People should really remember this equation for converting Fahrenheit to Celsius:

Subtract 32, multiply by 5, and divide by 9.


So under load you are getting a temperature of around 48.8C? Idle around 41.6C?

In my opinion you could overclock a little, be careful of what you are doing and really watch the temperatures when you increase the voltage.:
That's when my cpu fan wasn't isntalled properly. now it's at 37 degrees celsius when doing nothing and about 42ish when under load.

okay i tried overclocking.My multiplier is 9 and default fsb is 200 mhz.

I went 5 mhz everytime and went up to 225. when made it 2025 mhz. then when i got up to 230, i got the black screen of death. so i set it back to defaul and that's where i am at now.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.