possible to OC? just need a quick yes/no - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Question can this computer overclock?

can i OC a compaq?

my comp:
2.8 celeron
768ram
radeon 9250 PCI 256mb

i want to OC the processer to like 3.0

is it possible to OC a compaq? i have everest home edition and it has an OC section but it doesnt seem to do anything

i heard you cant OC dell,compaq,gateway, etc b/c of bios

and if i cant, is there a way that i can (DL something, change bios, or anuything like that)
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No......there are programs like clockgen that allow you to OC within windows, but I'd never recommend OC'ing within windows.......I'm not 100% if you can even lock your AGP/PCI with that program and it's essential you're able to lock such busses when OC'ing......all prebuilts aren't going to be made to OC
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

he can oc the vga
GageMW is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

graphics cards are a given.......you don't OC a graphics card through the BIOS now do you?

Quote:
i heard you cant OC dell,compaq,gateway, etc b/c of bios
Implies he meant the CPU and RAM...
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

so there's no possible way...

argh
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Thats what you get for buying an HP
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.