Is this Possible??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2007, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Is this Possible???

Is there a chance that the tempeature reading of my cpu could be off??? I added a zalman 9500 with some AS5, and Asus pc probe and Hmonitor both say the idle temp is at 41 C,, however, the air coming out the back and the top of the case is accually very cool, and the heat sync around the fan is hardly even warm and I know the processor is getting good heat absortion to the heat sync. So is there any chance this could be wrong?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Is this Possible???

It can absolutely be wrong. In fact, almost everytime the temp read outs are wrong. Every program will give you a different reading. I'd go with an average of the programs and your Bios temps.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 01:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Is this Possible???

i would go with the bios readings over any kind of teperature reading program. what does it say?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 07:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Is this Possible???

Hello,

41°C idle seems normal to me. Relatively cool even. If it were something like an average of 32°C idle before changing the heatsink however, then I would be a bit concerned.

Any ideas as to what the average temperature readings were during idle before you changed the heatsink?

Also, the majority of programs will just read the temperature from the processor's thermal diode. The same for the BIOS.

To add, it's always going to be hotter at the core of the CPU, than the exterior of the heatsink, or the air being exhausted from the CPU heatsink (because of convection and thermal conduction).
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Is this Possible???

The idle temp before i added the heat sync was 53 degrees, and yes the bios displays the same tempeature as other programs.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 05:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: Is this Possible???

What are the room temps, because that could make the air coming out seem relatively cool. And did you put too thick a layer of thermal grease because that could also throw it off. Or you could be getting a bad reading.
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 07:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Is this Possible???

the temp in the room is usually 20-25 degrees C. No i dont think i put on to thick of a layer, I followed the instructions on the AS5 website and only put on a little dab of it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Is this Possible???

41*C is CHILLY for a Pentium D. You've nothing to worry about there.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 08:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Is this Possible???

yeah you got a 12 C decrease in idle from the new heatsink. sounds like you are golden
networkgeek is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 12:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Is this Possible???

Yea that's actually a good temp for a pentium D 3.2GHz. The single core pentiums clocked that high usually idle at 50*C or higher. You've got nothing to worry about.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.