is it possible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default is it possible?

I have an Opty 144 overclocked to 2GHz, Everest is reporting my temps at 24-25C idle i think its wrong but not sure, i have also have an 80mm fan in teh front (somewhere) and a 120mm in the pack pulling air out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 64564.jpg (36.9 KB, 99 views)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

nope thats possible. ive had such temps on my cpu also.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

That temp reading looks like it's way off. I wouldn't trust it. Most Athlon temp probs are all screwed up anyway.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i dunno, it is possible...
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I have that exact same board. The temperature probes are f***ed on that board. Don't expect to ever get a good reading from it.


I get three different readings from my CPU. In bios it says 31 idle. But when I heat it up, the fan speeds up before the reading goes up, so that can't really be the CPU temp. Also, in SpeedFan, it reports at 52. The only one that seems to be right is the provided overclocking program, which seems to report my CPU at 27 and raises simuotanously with my CPU's fan speed.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well, i know my BIOS usually reports in the 40's, so i guess i shouldn't trust it
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
nope thats possible. ive had such temps on my cpu also.


With Phase Change yeah but with standard air cooling bring a CPU below ambeint temps is immpossible.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
With Phase Change yeah but with standard air cooling bring a CPU below ambeint temps is immpossible.
with phase changed he'd be at -20 degrees... hahaha, maybe that airconditioned water cooling or whatnot
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
with phase changed he'd be at -20 degrees... hahaha, maybe that airconditioned water cooling or whatnot

well I was referring to the whole below ambient temp


but yeah your right that stuff is intense
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

**** that i want my pc to be at absolute 0.

...*****.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.