possibel to put to much arctic silver 5 on? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2004, 11:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

I know of two awesome products tt sells. the volcano 12 but thats LOUD. and also the silent boost i think its called, it gets awesome reviews
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 11:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

v12+ works great, and you don't even have to have it up, unless your running the **** out of your system.. I leave my fan at 3500 (silent) and it'll keep my system below 52c when gaming and using winamp, etc...

I live in texas and it gets hot here, so my apt. temp is 78F so that's why my systems running hot period, but either way the v12 is great
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 06:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

i checked out the v12 on newegg.com and it says its for amd's and i have a pentium 4 2.8E Prescott with HT .. will it still work?
AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 10:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

here is a good HSF for your cpu http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-032&depa=1 I suggest that you put some AS5 on their and you will be fine.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 03:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well its 4:00 in the morning so i dont feel like reading everyones post.. so if someone already said this then sorry. If you put too much on, then it will not work right. the layer will be too thick and it will be like peanut butter with no jelly inbetween bread. It will be too thick and you cant chew on it. Well same thing here. When the fan is taking the hot air out, it cant becuase there is too much thermal paste on there.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 02:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

It is, I burned my old processor out last year because the guy at (Store will remain unnamed ) put a big blob of it on thinking it would help keep it cool. I take it back when it shut down on me randomly, and found out from another guy that it was too much and it actually kept heat in the core as opposed to dispating it. Just use a small amount like the above guys said. Use a credit card to thin it out. I learned all this after I lost a chip of course. I now have built my own and wont take it to a tech guy there again :x Good luck!
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 02:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

i put a dot on the CPU .. but i didn't spread it out with a cc .. the intels chips are all smooth on top, so you say spread it all out with a cc to the edge eh? if i get a new HSF unit, how should i remove the old AS5 from the cpu? i used isopropyl alcohol to clean off the stock intel thermal pad .. same thing?
AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 01:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea if i had a credit card i would not put that thing near any AS5 lol
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 01:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

you dont just put a dot of as5, you have to spread it around evenly.
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

ok, i took your advice and got the spark 7+ .. i removed as5 with isopropyl alcohol, and reapplied a thin layer with a credit card, then installed HSF on it .. its running near 6000 rpm and is at about 50 degrees C .. i'm hoping this is just because im still breaking it in, its just as loud on full as my stock intel cooler and right now doesn't seem to be cooling a lot better, but i'll wait for the as5 to set in before i pass judgement
__________________

AznRurouni007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.