Please review my system - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 08:52 AM   #41 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Please review my system

Your OS is not important. Just restart the computer, and press del or F1 when it starts to boot.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 08:04 AM   #42 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Default Re: Please review my system

i cant find the SpeedStep in my bios!! where are they?. Is anyone here familiar with Gigabyte BIOS layout?
__________________

rommy_tqt is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 09:14 AM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Default Re: Please review my system

OK i find the speedstep. ok i have other question when i disable speedstep, my core speed run up and down from 2mhz to 3 mhz and my multiplier change to. is that normal?


TIA
rommy_tqt is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 10:06 AM   #44 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please review my system

You should disable both the EIST (SpeedStep), and C1E, to prevent the speed and multiplier from changing. It's in the advanced section of the BIOS menu.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:00 PM   #45 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Please review my system

^^Yes what b1gapl said, disable both of those things, speedstep was lowering your multiplier to 6 when your rig was idle. The stock multi for the e6850 is x10, you should be fine now. The reason you think you comp is running slow is because of vista, it eats your rig.:freak:
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 02:34 PM   #46 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Please review my system

what is so slow about it? You really shouldn't overclock unless you know what you are doing, because it voids the warranties and you can really screw your system up.

Have you made sure all of the right drivers are installed? If you use generic windows drivers for hardware they will run in compatibility mode and run really slow.

also everyone is right when they say Vista is slow as mud. So dont be suprised if it crawls.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.