Please help me overclock my Intel E4500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2008, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Question Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

Hi everyone!

Well, I am asking for help so I may overclock my E4500. I believe I need a little extra speed because my TV Capture card cuts off at times when I am attempting to watch digital programs. It does ok with the analog programs, but the sound cuts off and the video portion gets choppy with the digital.

My system is as follows:

Intel E4500
ECS 945GCT-M/1333
XP Pro w/SP2
2 sticks of 1gb DDR2 = 2gb ocz
Hauppauge 1600 capture card
Cool Master 600 PS
e-GeForce 6200 LE 256MB PCI-E

The core temp has never gone above 27 degrees cel. This processor is much cooler running than my last rig with an 805 D which ran a bit hot.

Can anyone help me please?

Freddy
__________________

soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

Yeh, just mod the FSB (Front Side Bus) of the CPU in Bios.

The stock is 2.2 so it will probably have somewhere near a 300 mark for FSB with a 7x multiplier.

Assuming you have automatic voltage then i would say take it up to maybe 400 fsb (2.8ghz)

400x7 = 2800, or you can just modify it how you see nicely
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

Red,

Can you be a little more specific as to how I increase the FSB?

Thank you,

Freddy
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

erase the number, and type in a new one
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

Go to bios (when your computer starts up it should tell you to enter bios you must press a key, mine is delete)

Then when your in bios it will look kinda like this (or maybe a bit different) http://www.blendsblog.com/wp-content...07/09/bios.jpg

You want to find something that looks like this in one of those tabs.http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A..._cpuconfig.jpg

Then just change the number Mhz to maybe 400
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

your e4500 has a 11x multiplier since the stock FSB is 200mhz.

I suggest putting your vcore to 1.375v and the FSB to 266mhz. This will put you just shy of 3ghz. Do some orthos testing to see if its stable and there ya go you're in business.

Also make sure that when you change the FSB you aren't overclocking your ram massively. (mess with the FSB/RAM multipler)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please help me overclock my Intel E4500

Quote:
your e4500 has a 11x multiplier since the stock FSB is 200mhz.
]
ahhk didn't know that, good thing you pointed that out
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I overclock an Intel E4500 w/ECS 945GCT-M/1333? soarwitheagles Overclocking and Modding 1 01-26-2008 12:14 AM
New Intel Allendale Processors & Price Cuts___Oct 21st maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 29 10-14-2007 11:50 AM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
Possible to overclock DG965SS Intel board? Elsom Overclocking and Modding 0 07-02-2007 09:36 AM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.