please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2012, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

Hello all i got this baby yesterday i looked up some guides got it installed but have questions.

Amazon.com: Corsair Cooling Hydro-Series All-in-One High-Performance Liquid CPU Cooler CWCH60: Electronics
For example on the installation guide it says plug the fan to cpu fan slot and the pump to any free fan 3 ping plug.
now i have read on some guides that is better to have the pump in the cpu fan slot and the fan direct to the psu.
that is what i did. but i figure i ask here. I also read that is better to have the pump direct to the psu.
i need you guys with experience with this issue to tell what truly better this the first liquid cooler i ever installed.
This is what i did i read that ill have to change the fan settings in the case around because the cooler would be blowing hot air in i dint want that and i cant change the fans in my case to flow in back and out true the front.
so i put the radiator on the back of the case and the fan behind it to blow out and an additional fan on back on the case to draw air out i have pics so you see what i mean.
http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...2-22224733.jpg

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...2-22224823.jpg

the case has plenty of air going in and now the radiator between 2 fans pushing out

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...2-22225109.jpg

please let me know if i can make it better or if i did something wrong

thanks in advance
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

i guess no else has any ideas on this matter lol
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

I haven't used one of these kits, but here is my 2c.

I would have the pump on the PSU or SYSFAN plug since they aren't typically regulated, so it will be going full-bore when your computer is on.
I'd put the fans on the CPUFAN plug so that they can be regulated based on the needs of the CPU for heat dissipation.

You want your fans pushing the air out the back, not pulling it in from the rear.
Your setup looks fine, though I'm not sure why you put a fan on the outside instead of mounting it inside.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

ok ill connect the black fan that came with the cooler to the cpu fan and the pump to the psu.
you cant really see it on the pic but the radiator is between 2 fans one drawing air from inside the case to the radiator and the one back out side is pushing that air out the case. i had to mount that one outside there was no other way unless i order a clip on fan adapter but as long as it works.
Drogos is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

Attachment 5138

this the temps im getting tell if it sounds right
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temps.jpg (11.2 KB, 598 views)
Drogos is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

SS is way too small, looks like i7 something at 2.4GHz? maxing at 47-51c?
And are those temps after a stress test, like Prime95?
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

is an i7 3.7 950 bloomfield quad. does temp are just on regular goes from 36 to 43 on regular i was playing a game and it went up up to 52 while playing.
here is a better ss.

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...6000/temps.png

im going to run prime95 to see what i get.
Drogos is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

I wouldn't directlty plug the pump into a non regulated power set. Having a pump frun 24/7 will wear it out.

Plus it'll be loud.

Putting the fan on a psu 4pin or fan header would be the smart thing.

Run ibt, intel burn test.

Currently my 950 @ 4.0ghz is folding at 100% cpu and has been at 71C for 20 days straight with a noctua nh-12 push pull setup.

I also found at stock speed/Vcore it was to much Vcore and turned it down.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

Pulled this off another forum after a quick Google search:
Quote:
my idle is around 35C with my 950 at 4.1ghz 1.28v
So depending on where your voltage is at, it sounds like you're a little warm but not in terrible shape.
If you haven't already, I would start dropping voltage little by little to find your lowest stable VCORE as it will lower temps as well.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: please check my corsair H60 hydro cooler installation

this what i get with prime95

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...000/temps2.png

ill go head and connect the pump to the opt fan 1 slot.

my plan is to overclock my cpu to 4.0 like you but want to make sure the cooler is running proper first and not running to hot.

ill look into the burn test.
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair H70 on a gtx 580 hydro copper 2 cooling idea NatPc New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-04-2011 09:44 AM
Corsair Hydro on a graphics card?? thought? xyikie New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-29-2011 07:59 PM
Corsair Hydro Series™ H70 - CWCH70 Slaymate Official TF Reviews 4 11-23-2010 07:21 PM
Corsair Readies Hydro H70 CPU Water Cooler PP Mguire New Technology and Products 0 08-06-2010 06:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.