Please Answer This Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2004, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default Please Answer This Question

OK guys here me out. I havre this computer which is pretty crappy i wanna upgrade it so i can play GTA 3 and Starwars Galaxies etc. I will later on get a better computer but right now i just wanna do something decent to the computert. Here are the specs of my current computer.

-First of all my computer is a Compaq Presario 7000 series lol dont laugh at me.

-AMD Athlon 1 gig
-128 meg of ram(need upgrading)
-Nvidia Tnt2 pro 32 mb(need upgrading)
-40 gig's of HD space.(prolly need upgrading just for my personal use.)
-i forgot what sound card im using but thats not important at the moment.

-So does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do. Like what I should put on there to upgrade it with. I just wanna here some suggestion from the people in the Forum.

th3_choos3n_on3 is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19

I dont think im gonna overclock anything im scared to fool around with this Compaq computer i would understandf if it was a computer that i customized myself.

By the way I also wanna know what you guys thing of a good laptop i should purchase cause i need a decent laptop so i can go away on trips and watch movies and stuff .


or I might consider the 2.8 gig seen here...

th3_choos3n_on3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 06:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Youve Not given much info on your MB or your PS .I recomend at least a quality Power Supply of 350 watt .
So heres a recomendation
Consider this just to get you by .Your processor is fine for now.
When you do get your new system , this 1 is a good backup system.
Upgrade your video card so that you can still use it in your next sytem.ATI 9600 or better , Nvidia Ti 4600 or better .Add a stick of memory or configure it up to 256 mb for win9x . 500mb and higher for Xp OS .
Before you upgrade it Download and install 3Dmark01se .
Run some benchmarks at various settings and save the results as a txt file. Then upgrade your system and run the same tests compare them and see your performance gain
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default thx

o my uve been so kind to me thx alot man ur the greatest.
th3_choos3n_on3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.