Platinum Revs and Motherboard OC'ing Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default Platinum Revs and Motherboard OC'ing Problem

hey i found out tonight that my motherboard ddr ram voltage only goes up to 2.7 volts. i checked the asus faqs and they said:

After updating to BIOS version 1005, I still can't adjust DDR RAM Voltage to 2.8V on K8N-E Deluxe v1.04 motherboard. Why?

K8N-E Deluxe PCB Revision 1.04 motherboard does not support this new feature. However, PCB revision 1.05 with BIOS 1005 or later will support adjusting DDR RAM Voltage to 2.8V.

so my question is what is a pcb revision? i got bios 1.06 so i'm up to date on that. is a pcb revision a change in the motherboard design? am i stuck with my 2.7 volts then? do you think 2.7 volts is enough to OC my platinum revs a bunch?
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yes PCB is a change in motherboard design, it's the actual board itself.

PCB = Printed Circuit Board

2.7v will only get you so far unfortunately, you will be able to overclock but you're either not going to get very far on decent timings or you'd really have to loosen them up to hit the higher speeds with little voltage
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

ok, right now i'm up to 230Mhz FSB with cpu frequency multiplier at 8x and timings are 2.5-3-3-7 at 2.7v. What should i loosen the timings to now or should i just stick with what i got now?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I believe that the Rev2s use a default DIMM voltage of 2.7v so I think you'll hit a wall fairly soon. Especially with TCCD, that stuff just loves voltage and can easily handle 3v+.

I would ditch the Asus personally, Rev2 should be able to hit at least 280MHz if the board doesn't limit voltage.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Yea i would ditch the board myself. you need something that at least supports 3v or more to make those rev2s really scream! I would suggest NF4 board or somehing
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Especially with TCCD, that stuff just loves voltage and can easily handle 3v+.
Nah TCCD's are meant for pretty high FSB's with low wattage and decent timings, it's the BH-5's that wallow in juice, but he'd need atleast 2.9v DIMM to get them to hit 275MHz.

230 aint bad on 2.7v really, I'd say leave it at 2.5-3-3-7 and see how far it'll go for you, if not that, then try something like 3-3-3-11
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

11? are you sure cause thats really loose! thast like one of the girls in my school loose man!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now that is LOOSE..... I've never seen something or someone that loose lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
11? are you sure cause thats really loose! thast like one of the girls in my school loose man!
If you knew about overclocking RAM and what each of the numbers meant and how it effects overclocking you wouldn't be shocked by that suggestion

Heres some reading for you kiddies:

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...&threadid=3393

Charles - you need to check out xtremesystems.org where theres a lot of overclocks being done
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

i know the #'s i just wanted to diss the girls at our school lol. thanx for the info though. learn something new everyday!
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.