Planet Side 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2012, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Planet Side 2

specs.jpg

Hello,

I just got my first new computer in over 10 years, needless to say ive been out of the game for awhile. I downloaded planet side 2 just to see what my comp can do and quickly became addicted. Anyways my brother came over to check it out and he said i could speed up the games performance by overclocking my comp. The problem is i dont know how to do this. Am I in the right place for this information? Any help would be highly appreciated.

Nick
__________________

__________________
Socalsvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Is this a laptop or a desktop computer?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Planet Side 2

what computer do you have? can you post a link please.
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve10765 View Post
what computer do you have? can you post a link please.
(CLICK THE JPG) Its a desktop...thanks for your help!
HP Pavilion H8 1222
Attached Images
File Type: jpg specs.jpg (53.5 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Socalsvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default Re: Planet Side 2

HP = Pre-built = no overclocking. The motherboard is locked to prevent it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Planet Side 2

OK thank you....

Nick
__________________
Socalsvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,560
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Getting a new graphics card would benefit you more than overclocking.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Getting a new graphics card would benefit you more than overclocking.

What would you recommend for a graphics card?
__________________
Socalsvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,960
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Another thing not mentioned is you don't have a 2600k. The k means you can overclock.

We need a budget to recommend. My first will be a 660ti.

You will most likely (95%) need a new PSU as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,560
Default Re: Planet Side 2

Depends on what your budget it.

Edit: Ninja'd by PP; damn you lol.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.