Phenom II 965 OC 4.2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2013, 10:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Yea I figured it would. My guess would have been jump straight up to 78c actually.

Technically the 965 can handle a bit warmer but for any CPU my rule of thumb is 75 unless you got a backup. Those volts at those temps for long periods of time can cause some serious degradation and power dependence.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Dropped my multiplier down to 20 and voltage back down to 1.36. At 4GHz running prime95. So far it hasn't gone past 51c.
__________________

KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Sounds like a winner. If you only game, not much sense in generating all the extra heat for no increase.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Speaking about gaming, im going to thread Jack my own thread... im running a 5770, I can only hit about 915MHz before the card crashes. The temps are only hitting 63c when this happens. Any thoughts?
KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Needs more volts. I had to bios mod mine to hit over 1000 sadly.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Needs more volts. I had to bios mod mine to hit over 1000 sadly.
Just dl`d afterburner. I figured it had something to do with voltage. Running some tests on it currently at 1.27v ive been able to max my core clock now without it failing.
KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Yea they run rather cool for being 5000 series. I probably shouldn't say this, but for any card I have I max the voltage straight off the bat. I then just raise that core until it can't anymore. I was so disappointed I couldn't do 1Ghz that I just modded the bios to up the voltage limit. Then it started getting hot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

The max voltage afterburner will allow is 1.35v maybe I should dip into my BIOS... or do you think I wouldn't hit 1GHz with this GPU... I mean, its not even getting hot with the Kombustor test.... like 51c max on the GPU so far.
KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

I don't recommend modding your GPU bios. It's way different than overclocking via your motherboard bios.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Phenom II 965 OC 4.2

Okay. Im going to see if I cant get my RAM boosted now.
__________________

KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.