Performance problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Question Performance problem?

Hi, with my system posted in my sig, I am having trouble getting WoW to run as well as I want it to. Now, I'm not sure if I have my expectation set too high for the equipment I have, but I'm just going to see if it's possible to get what I wan't.

Right now, I've got all settings maxed except for the color multisampling, and running on 1680x1050 resolution. Inside I get the FPS that I want, and that's between 50-60, but outside, It's all over the spectrum. Sometimes It can be 40-50, and in woods or heavily populated areas, it will run about 25. My average FPS on these settings is probably 30.

Is it possible for me to get the 50-60 FPS that I get inside but everywhere? or can my rig not quite handle what I'm throwing at it.

Thanks for any help
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: Performance problem?

i'm not seeing your system specs in your sig. maybe you should list what they are and we can help you more out. also try playing it at a lower resolution that might help out a bit. Also just play around with the setting or set them all on medium and see how it goes from there and then increase what you think needs to be done and everything.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Performance problem?

i can see his system specs, but i cant solve your prob.
Sorry
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Performance problem?

I think your main problem is that you are trying to play in widescreen with a card that is designed for lower resolutions, try lowering it and see if that helps.
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Performance problem?

well i do have the same card as you do and i herd that to play in big resolutions you need a card with 512mb and 7900gs is 256.
So do asw raknor mentioned, lower your resolution.
Im not sure if this helps, but my 3dmark06 score is around 5125
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Performance problem?

yep, resolution is too high. i see your card is already overclcoked...so probably the only things you can do are:
turn down the detail, get another 7900gs, or lower your res.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Performance problem?

whats a good program to keep testing your oc for gfx cards?
i tried rivatuner, but no matter how high i set the clock it never fails.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Performance problem?

Don't worry too much about getting lower FPS in WoW in the woods and what not. Seriously, lol, they got some lame programming for some of those areas.

I got an 8800GTX, and in duskwood when looking far ahead in the woods i get like 30 or 40 frames a second... lol. Same thing with my other mate who recently bought 2 8800 Ultras and is SLI ing them. More to the point, why the **** would you have 2 ultras and play WoW? Why would I have a GTX and play WoW! WHY DO I PLAY WOW. More to the point, don't worry about it.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Performance problem?

^^heh^^
thats funny. why play wow.
sli ultras is ultra retarded.
but, if your mate gets tired of having two i can give one a fine new home.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Performance problem?

^^ I second that.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
XP performance monitor disabled 1Mdlls Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 11:01 PM
Performance Problem Verty333 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-01-2007 10:33 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.