Performance? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2005, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e
Default Performance?

My computer is 2 years old now and i was wondering if there was any performance tips out there so i can try to make sure my computer runs at the performance it should?

And about defrag?? how often should i do it? And does it help out a lot??

2.14GHz 512MB of RAM Thanks!

Rook1e is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut

I do defrag once a month or so, disk cleanup once a week or so. That really won't help your performance though. It may a tad, but not significantly. What're some more specs on your PC?

the old system...
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

If you haven't reformatted since you've had it, you'll be surprised how much that can help.

Another 512 of RAM would help quite a bit as well.

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e

some more specs on my pc.

AMD Athlon Xp 2600+
Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
512MB of RAM
Rook1e is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to Rook1e

Hey idiotec,
How do i know what memory card to buy thats right for my pc?
Rook1e is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Download CPU-Z and look for the memory tab and it should list what kind of RAM you have, I'm betting you have DDR though.......

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.