Perfect pc performance forever - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2006, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Default Perfect pc performance forever

nothing ever seems to beat a fresh installation of windows, it boots fast and games run at peak fps..etc

last week i thought, i hate having antivirus scanners and having to use junk cleaners and have all these running apps..etc and i'm tired of sudden software problems forcing me to seek info and help or reinstall.

i came up with a theory (i'm sure i'm not the first) that some probably wont like because it requires a slight change in user habits which i know is fiercly defended but bare with me and sorry for long post

main ingredient is Deep Freeze 6.0 which i used to dislike for several reasons but i then recently thought of a way around those reasons and realized how great this software's potential is.

so here was my plan layout which so far for a week straight has worked perfectly.

>disconnect cable modem (to help avoid possible infection after install)

>full formatted install of XP using 2 partitions (c will be frozen while d will stay thawed)

>updated all drivers and configured XP to my liking

>move "my documents" folder to D: drive (so default gamesaves..etc work as normal)

>install all games to D: partition so they can be modified however the game requires it to. also install frequently modified apps here such as Opera browser.

since C drive is restored every reboot and secured as site claims i saw no reason to install much of any 3rd party apps to C: as to help maintain OS integrity and speed.
even though changes require using "thaw" mode and reboot, i think the overall time it saves me in long run would be worth it.
theoretically i guess i dont even need a firewall since any viruses would be elimited on reboot but i used NV's hardware firewall instead so it wont eat cpu time and is decent.

after all that i freeze partition, connect to internet and so far i have to say its the best thing i think i ever did, DF works like a charm in this fashion and my benchmark scores remain exactly the same for a week now.

i know i havnt tested this long and hard enough yet but does anyone see any flaws in my idea of a perfect pc?

dcyphure is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

hrmm, that sounds like a great idea, i think i'll actually give that a shot

Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Sooooo... how do you update/patch Windows?

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276

you would have to download the patchs. unplug internet. disable deepfreeze then run the patchs and then re-enable.
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater

yea lots of work. me not bothering w. anything lie that

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 07:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 57

nice idea but alot of long winded work why not just reformat when the computer needs it lol.
gameover is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

actually, its been done already on a massive scale. my school. they got about 200+ dell optiplex gx440 towers, all the same. the do the same exact thing, with a external hdd, they have one copy of xp on a "model" machine that is sitting in the corner in one of the labs, and they copied the entire drive, programs and all for the entire school, onto a external hdd. now in the coputer lab, its a lil annoying, cause i had pc programing, and i(many o times) saved my work to the c drive, and lost it, nothing saved, restored on logout. i was thinking of doing the same to this pc, because i have no problem with that setup, cause i was on it for a year, and i got a 40gb as my win install, and an 80gb for other crap. ok now the reason people dont like to reformat their pc whenever it needs, is because it takes time to do that. if ur in a hurry to finish a homework assignment, or a resume, u dont want to format, plus when u format, u loose all of ur valued documents and what not. me, personally, i have a win2kpro sp4disk thats been slipstreamed and modded so it is a unatended install, so i just pop the disk in, and go to school, come back, it done, asking for key. on most installs, its a user install, so the user has to be there to click buttons and fix errors, otherwize that, the install halts, thus, taking even that was a lot of typing ^_^
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 06:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45

reformatting is whats long winded but you simply select thaw option then reboot and update as you want, it kinda sounds like work but in the long run it can save lots of time, just consider how long it takes to run and update AV scanners or all those maintances in attempts to regain performance.

my main aspect of it is to maintain constant peak performance and peace of mind knowing my registry isnt contaminated with spyware..etc cuz those scanners dont catch everything

i didnt like the idea of a frozen partition untill i realized the easy way to still save default files

if you change wallpaper or themes alot, just use standbye mode
i think if everyone tried out the trial version of DF and moved the my documents folder n stuff i bet most on average would really like it.

dcyphure is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.