PentiumIII 600mhz overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2004, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default PentiumIII 600mhz overclocking

is it possible to overclock this..if so..how?
__________________

__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

It depends on your motherboard. With a good motherboard then yea, it is possible.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

i would think so
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

depends on which chip it is

if its the 133 then yes but not much

if its the 100 then yes by a lot

reason being

the 133 has a multi of like 4.5

so for every 1mhz you overclock the FSB you get 4.5 MHZ CPU speed

the 100 has a multi of 6

so for every 1 mhz you overclock the FSB you get 6 mhz CPU speed

may not seem like a lot but when you start plugging in 20 or 30 you end up with

100mhzfsb
30*6=180+600=780mhz

30*4.5=135=735mhz

and on a CPU with only 800 mhz 50 is a big deal

i saw somewhere that they could OC almost to 1ghz on the 100FSB and only like 800 something on the 133

this is all with exceptional cooling
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

its set as 600mhz with a 133mhz bus and it gives me 800mhz
i cant get any higher than that..i try but it always ends up saying 600 or 800
__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.