Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2008, 07:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

did i make a mistake buy buying a pentium 2.5Ghz over a 2.5 or 2.3Ghz core2duo for gaming?
__________________

Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

Erm was the pentium you brought dual core? And what are the specs of both the systems, if the pentium came with more meory or a graphics chip and the core 2 duo didn't then it may not be so bad.
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

Pentium Dual Cores are Core 2 Duo's with less cache. The E5200 is a great cpu and you can't go wrong getting it.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default Will this Mobo support a wireless 360 controller?

will a wireless 360 controller work with this mobo?
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

Why would they advertise it like that?

Maybe a marketing thing..... Like just happened. Oh no can't buy a pentium, gotta spend more on a C2d...


Like an xbox 360??
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Why would they advertise it like that?

Maybe a marketing thing..... Like just happened. Oh no can't buy a pentium, gotta spend more on a C2d...


Like an xbox 360??

Very good sir. I can't wait to get my ordered pc built and running. Cant wait to play great looking games on my nice keyboard baby!

when you trying to get a game to run real smooth, is the amount of the cpu cache memory, or the clock speed play a more crucial roll? Or both working together?
Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

If you want a game smooth, depending on the Res, you need more GPU Power the higher the resolution, the lower the resolution, the more stress on the CPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Will this Mobo support a wireless 360 controller?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Callofbooty View Post
i dont think a controller working is dependent on the mobo. its dependent on the game. wireless i dunno. im sure you have to use a receiver of some sort. my wired controller works with GRID, Pure and Assassin's Creed. probably more than that but those are the only ones i use it for. actually, only GRID and Pure because AC sucks lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:10 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Pentium VS. Core 2 Duo

Wireless will work as long as you get the PC compatible one and not the XBox only version.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2,2GHZ core 2 duo or dual core 3,4 GHZ Teufel System Upgrades 4 12-22-2007 01:06 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.