Pentium Finally Fights Back - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default Pentium Finally Fights Back

I dont know if everyone heard of pentiums new processors. Im trying to find this site that did benchmark tests with the new 3.8ghz 1066fsb pentium and the notorious FX-53.
The new intels are pretty much owning the FX-53 in every benchmark. Heres one great review with their other new processor.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu.../p4xe-346.html

Ok i finally found it here you guys go.

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...26131%2C00.asp

Have fun.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think the FX-55 would beat the P
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im a very loyal AMD fan. I think since the 64 bits been out for a little while now its pentiums turn to slap back. But once again AMD will be slaping back, and i know AMD always slaps harder.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

the main disadvantage is that you have to overclock intel processors by a lot more than AMD processors to receive the same performance gain... in the end, the fx-55 wins it. just that it's a bit out of my price range
__________________
Find a Web Host
Brian911 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ehh, both are pointless. We aren't in a 64bit environment, so I really don't care, and all this with the AMD64's is getting out of hand. People are asking for budget computers for the grandmas and people will suggest "AMD64 SOCKET 939 with 6800GT!!" and it's just pointless. Until we get a 64bit OS which won't be until like 2006, then AMD64's aren't really anything to be that excited about. IMO it's just an expensive *** piece of hardware mainly for bragging rights, more than it is actual usefulness. I put together a 64 system with the 3500+ 64, MSI Neo2-Platinum board 1gb of high performance RAM, and the main reason his computer was faster was because of his 1gb of high performance RAM compared to my 156mb of PC2700

AMD64 = Overrated and I'm an AMD Loyal Fan, as I really don't like Intel for the most part (doesn't have anything to do with actual abilities of the processor, I simply like AMD company more )

I think people need to stop getting so hung up these 64's and focus on what is actually needed to accomplish whatever task you need
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

True.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Ehh, both are pointless. We aren't in a 64bit environment, so I really don't care, and all this with the AMD64's is getting out of hand. People are asking for budget computers for the grandmas and people will suggest "AMD64 SOCKET 939 with 6800GT!!" and it's just pointless. Until we get a 64bit OS which won't be until like 2006, then AMD64's aren't really anything to be that excited about. IMO it's just an expensive *** piece of hardware mainly for bragging rights, more than it is actual usefulness. I put together a 64 system with the 3500+ 64, MSI Neo2-Platinum board 1gb of high performance RAM, and the main reason his computer was faster was because of his 1gb of high performance RAM compared to my 156mb of PC2700

AMD64 = Overrated and I'm an AMD Loyal Fan, as I really don't like Intel for the most part (doesn't have anything to do with actual abilities of the processor, I simply like AMD company more )

I think people need to stop getting so hung up these 64's and focus on what is actually needed to accomplish whatever task you need
Umm, have you tried the 64 bit windows that you can download for free on their website?
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Umm, have you tried the 64 bit windows that you can download for free on their website?
Yeah you mean that piece of unstable crap that's really not useful besides creating more system instabilities? Yeah I've seen it....what's your point?
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I think its cool lol, if an admin see's this could you pm me cause I have a question.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I watched some computer show a little while back i can't remember the name of it but they were doing a review on some of the top company's for gaming rig's,out of 5 company's that sent them a rig 3 were the new p4's and the other 2 was the Amd FX serie's and when they ran the test's the p4's totally ate the FX's alive.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.