Pentium 4 Prescott 521 question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default Pentium 4 Prescott 521 question

first of all, i want to OC my pentium 4 521 but i dont know wut temps it should run at and how to tell if its idlin or workin (or w.e). also, how do you tell if the cpu is stable? Its running at 2.8GHz (factor settin) and i want to OC it to 3.0 or higher (not to much max 3.4) In BOIS, it says the cpu is runnin at 46C so idk if its too hot to OC. by the time i realized AMD was 1000000x better than intel (lol) i already had this computer built. So is my processor able to OC maybe to 3.1 or 3.2?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you're going to oc, and want to oc it even to 3.2Ghz ur probably going to have to buy aftermarket cooling.

The Zalman CNPS9500 and Thermaltake Big Typhoon, and Scythe Ninja are all great choices for cooling.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

What you need to do is get a program that reads processor temp while you're in windows. The temp in the BIOS will always be higher than the temp while windows ir running.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

yea i have speedfan. is it normal when runnin speedfan to have the cpu usage just go from 0% to 100% then back to 0%? on the speed fan it reads the temp anywhere from 46C to 50C
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Prescott's run hot, but at the same time, they're designed to run hot, so you can get away with higher temps than you can on some other chips. Realistically, if you stay under 70C, youÂ’re probably OK, but I know I wouldn't be comfortable with that. I would try to stay under 60C personally. I have the Tower 112 on mine and it doesn't break 50C with a decent OC.

You need to get a program that monitors temps in Windows and check temps during load. Idle temps are less useful than what it hits during full load. To put the CPU at full load, and to check stability, use Prime95.

Other than that, read the sticky/other guides, then read them all again, and again.

You should be able to hit 3.4Ghz with that chip no problem as long as you can keep temps under control.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

as long as your temps stay under 55-60 degrees, I say overclock until it becomes unstable
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

how can you tell if the cpu is unstable, will the computer just ramdonly shut of?
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Like I said before, use Prime95. To check for full stability you should run it for 12-24hrs with no errors.

Of course just playing a game for a few hours will give you a pretty good idea.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

It will freeze up, shut down, not start up. If that happens you have to reset the CMOS and start over.

I have no experience with speed fan, but I have a P4 640 and it idles at 23-28 degrees depending on the temp in my room, never goes above 47.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.