PCI slots - engaging ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2005, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default PCI slots - engaging ????

Hi again, I have just inserted a new Sound card - the case is a bit crap and the card does not fully engage - it is almost there, but I can see some of the copper contacts - about 2-3mm or so - is it vital that the card is seatd completely to the bottom of the PCI slot - in which case I would have to remove and pack the mobo - don't really want to do that.?
__________________

duncan is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Are you sure that you are trying to put the card in the right typr of slot? It should slide right in, with some resistance of course.

The card needs to be completely seated in the slot, no contacts showing.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Maybe the motherboard isn't high enough, and you need some standoffs.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

it is definately a PCI slot - it's just a bad case design - at the back the board fits in, but the front where the screw hole is attached to chassis it sits proud - only other card is AGP which seems fine, and in any case is different shape, so i have nothing to compare it to, however, i have tried it in all slots and it's the same - I'll either pack the mobo up or redesign the case with some pliers...
duncan is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
RB
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I have before had a similar proble (altho it only took me a few seconds to solve ) It was because the metal part of the pci slot(which goes to the outside of the case, the bit you screw down) was not near enough the back of the case so it was kind of sitting on the motherboard and i couldn't screw it down. All i done was stick something thin down and push the metal bit down and away from the mobo. This solved the problem.

If you understood that, lol.
RB is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

i understand exactly your plight - I initially thought that it might be a prob seating the end nr the mobo, but the re is plenty of room there - I think the pliers r coming out!!!!
duncan is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, I just put my new soundcard in, it takes a little elbow grease, make sure you line it up right and don't break it.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.