pc wont overclock anymore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2011, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default pc wont overclock anymore

ever since i installed my 5770 i cant overclock anymore.
when i go into bios and overclock and everything then save it and exit my computer shuts off, and when i try to turn it back on it powers up but dont display anything on screen. only way to fix this is to take gpu out then put it back in and it works but i cant overclock my cpu this happens everytime. but it used to work i had my q6600 at 3.2ghz for awhile.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

What power supply?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

its a ATX 500w model number psps-500
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

Sparkle eh.... 25A on the 1 12V.... Thats a good possibility there.

What gpu did you have?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 02:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

I believe that the 5770 needs ~40Amps on the 12 volt rail. You most likely need a quality power supply. A Corsair should do the job.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

No...... 40Amp is a Big psu...... AMD says:

■450 Watt or greater power supply with one 75W 6-pin PCI ExpressŪ power connectors recommended (600 Watt and two 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)

Your psu is round about a 375-420W psu in actuallity
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: pc wont overclock anymore

the 5770 takes about 10 amps under load. I'd get a new psu.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless wont connect anymore rjm0827 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 11-18-2010 12:37 PM
cannot overclock my q6600 anymore.. help :( enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-28-2008 06:02 PM
they wont let me post anymore? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-25-2007 01:06 AM
why wont my computer read disks anymore? callyt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-25-2006 07:41 PM
Wont Boot Anymore!!!! Nile Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 03-11-2004 12:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.