PC Slowing Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2006, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default PC Slowing Up

Hi I have the following system with the following-specs, I bought ot last year from PC World for £699.99, its starting to slow down and hang.? Ive got anti-virus installed, and anti-spyware software installed, has anyone got any ideas?

Microsoft Windows XP Home SP2
Pentium 4 Processor
Nvidia 6200 SE 256 MB
1024 GB Ram
260GB Hard-Disk
BT Broadband 2.2MB

Thank-you

I might be able to send a pc log for you guys to look at, but dont know how to?
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

A. It can only slow down .

To me it sounds like a system error, or drivers error or some sort of spyware/maleware that already caused damage to system files.

Ways to check it out is:

first way is trying to do System restore after you boot into safe mode, if that fails:

boot into safe mode, reinstall video cards drivers and stuff like that.

Then, scan for spyware and maleware.

If all fails I suggest to re-install the O.S.

If that doesn't work then you should start thinking about hardware damage or maybe not sufficient PSU... could be all sort of things though
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Format. You need to clear out crap every once in a while. There's probably a build up of junk so formating would be your best bet.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

^^second that... thats the only thing that has worked for me
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
^^second that... thats the only thing that has worked for me
Third'ed!! especially if you havent done any cleaning for a whole year, the crap built up would be horendous and take ages to clean up so best bet is re format i think and your pc will seem like brand new!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

... You guys spam for no reason, I have already included this option in my own post.

But since people does not like to reformat so easily I also gave in addition some more options that might solve his problems, so why make another reply saying what I said in short words and then second and third it?....

Take no offense, I just dont find any sense in it though..

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 04:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Crap Cleaner

Firefox

Spybot

Aside from these programs you may want to use a registry maintanance program such as Registry Mechanic 5 ... crap cleaner has a simpler registry cleaner but I like to use this. (I downloaded it off limewire for free, shhhh).

As mentioned above, you also want to defragment often. I use a program called Diskkeeper 9.0 which automatically does this for me.


Aside from these programs there are basic XP tweaks which can help your computer run more cleanly and efficiently. I like this website Tweakhound .

You can start cleaning up windows with the basics - reducing clutter on your desktop, only allowing essential programs to load on startup (drivers, anti-virus), and going to add/remove programs and taking off programs you don't ever use.
1greek4u is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

thanks, ve reformatted around 10 times, but still no luck, also my fans kick in as the system fails.
ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

got new graphics card coming
ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

cool, keep us posted if that helped you.

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.