PC in a mini fridge - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 09:29 PM   #51 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

well people were expressing the problem of moisture getting into the freezer and casuing condensation. When i was refering to a dehumidifier, i meant a device that gets rid of moisture in a pc case, someone could have just corrected me without chucking a tantrum like jolancer did. Im only 14, i dont know everything about everything. I am younger than a lot of users here so can people cut me a little slack.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:33 PM   #52 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

sorry, i just didnt feel like i was getting my point threw that there is no moisture ina fridge(someone kept saying there would be, i was getting frustrated). even if u open the door, the moisture that gets in will prolly be removed in minutes.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:44 PM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, its good we've resolved our issues. I didnt know that the moisture in a fridge was insignificant.

Also, what happens with the mouse, keyboard, power cables etc? I have permission of my mother to use our "tucker box" freezer to do some tests but what about the cables?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:05 PM   #54 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

unless the rubbery seal between the door and the box is thick enoght for u to cut away a chunk and just slip the cables threw there, with inulation around any remaining gap. other then that i think u would prolly have to drill a hole and pipe it threw, insulating all the gaps.

with a freezer though, u cannot be opening and closing it once the pc is in there up and running. cause unlike the fridge part, a freezer will instantly freeze moisture into ice crystalls(once closed, moisture will only come from outside, when u open door). the ice crystalls would eventually be removed, but ice takes a lot lot longer to evap, then just vapor.

for testing you would prolly be fine, but unless u have all your optical drives and stuff in a different pc, networked to the one in the freezer, so u can access them as u need. otherwise it wont be practial enough for u to actually use a freezer.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:24 PM   #55 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I saw this thermoelectric cooler that is made for like 4 cans of pop, I think housing the reservoir in there would be awesome. Just hope someone doesn't flip the switch to heat...- http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html...sin=B00008O37Z
I plan on getting water cooling since air just isn't sustaining my overclocking needs anymore. I am actually quite pissed off about that too. Actually nubius that wouldn't be to bad of an idea for you... $50 and substantially better cooling.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:35 PM   #56 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i had another look at it and the lid sits in a groove around the edge which would make it hard to fit cables in, and im not allowed to cut the seels or drill through it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:27 PM   #57 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

if there isnt a way for u to shut the door totally, then it wont work... u know those freezers at the grocery store that are like tub's and are left open all the time. thy end up with this couple inch thick(exadgerating a bit) layer of frost covering its walls.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:02 AM   #58 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, i dont think ill do it until i have enough money to pay for a freezer myself.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 07:39 AM   #59 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
even if u open the door, the moisture that gets in will prolly be removed in minutes.
minutes? thats not fast enough at all. it only takes seconds for a droplet of water to fall on your mobo (or any exposed electronics really).
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:14 AM   #60 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
I saw this thermoelectric cooler that is made for like 4 cans of pop, I think housing the reservoir in there would be awesome. Just hope someone doesn't flip the switch to heat...- http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html...sin=B00008O37Z
I plan on getting water cooling since air just isn't sustaining my overclocking needs anymore. I am actually quite pissed off about that too. Actually nubius that wouldn't be to bad of an idea for you... $50 and substantially better cooling.
uhm no not substantial, I've owned one. They take about 4-6 days before temps hit freezing, and thats if you never open the door, and keep the outside air under 70F. Takes 5-8 hours before you can even notice it getting colder. The coleman I had used a fan inside and out to circulate air across a plate with heatsinks on it aprox 6x3 inches in size. If left unattended the fins would ice over and plug off the air circulation, so it would stop cooling, the temp inside would rise even though that heatsink was packed in ice because of the lack of circulation.

Now if you were to cut the box off, use that plate to directly cool the water, and mount a few fans on the hotside, then you just might get the thing to lower 10F. I don't think its really worth that amount of effort though.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.