PC Build parts list - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default PC Build help

Hello,
I am building my first computer (first time building not first computer ) and I am trying really hard to stay under $1000. Right now im at $1061 but i can live with that . My current parts list:
pross - AMD 3800+
MOBO - DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
RAM- Corsair ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory
HDD- EXCELSTOR J840 40GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive - OEM (BTW whats OEM mean?)
Case ASPIRE X-Navigator ATXA9NW-AL/450 Black/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply
Graphics Card eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX Geforce 6800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

I already have a 200GB Hard drive and I am just using this hard drive for the OS and i already have CD, CD write, and Floppy drives. If you have any suggestions or see anything thats missing i want to hear from you
Thanks
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

OEM- basically is just the drive, no packaging, no manuals.

Forewarning- several will probably knock your choice of RAM, but they are not the one buying it.

A 2MB cache? Where did you dig that up? I would definately change that particular decision.

I don't know if the PSU in the Aspire cases is a good one or not. Unless you are just set on that case, check out these:

Thermaltake Soprano - Black - Mid Tower - 430W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133156

Thermaltake Soprano - Silver - Mid Tower - 430W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133157

Antec SONATA - Piano Black - Mid Tower - 380W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129127

And for a few bucks more:

Antec PERFORMANCE TX - Black - Server Case - 500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158

Please note that all of this is my personal opinion.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Get a 100+GB SATA HD and a 128MB videocard
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

He already has a 200gig HD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

First off to trotter, The only reason i am getting this Hard drive is for the OS. I don't exactly know what the cache is or does but if its important and i should get a different drive any suggestions on low priced alternatives? (I know most people automaticly sugest newegg and that is where i went to get this drive, my choice may show it but i do not really know a good or bad harddrive when i see one so thats why i'm asking )

Also about the OEM thing is that bad as in would i end up breaking it if i tried to install it?

Now to desiboi, first i couldn't even find that HD on newegg and second why do you sugest a 128mb Graphics card instesd of the 256?

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

As far as the RAM, it will be fine as long as your not OC'ing. But you are getting the DFI mobo, so I would guess you are. If you are, you will want to upgrade that. If not, its good RAM.

I agree on the HD. Get SATA, not IDE, and look for 8mb cache.

The graphics card you chose is the shizil. No problem there.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Im getting really confused about the SATA Harddrives! Is that a brand or what is it!? Sombody please help or send me a link or SOMTHING!
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

If you don't plan on OCing ever, and don't want alot of hastle, don't ge the DFI. It is not for newbies, and also runs slower on stock speeds than some other mobos out there.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Well this is my fist build and no offence Hacp but cold i have a second opinion on the Mobo. i was looking at the ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail but someone said that was buggy. Is that a better one to go to?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
If you don't plan on OCing ever, and don't want alot of hastle, don't ge the DFI. It is not for newbies, and also runs slower on stock speeds than some other mobos out there.
What dude? The motherboard doesn't affect overall performance at all, all motherboards should perform the same on stock speeds.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.