Parts Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2005, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Parts Help

im gonna go with a 3500 socket 939 clawhammer.
agp board because i have an agp card right now.
2x 160 gb ide hds(there on sale for 30 bucks)
512 ram(will upgrade QUICKLY)
integrated sound

i know its not that great but i have a budget and am gonna save up money to get another 3500 and a 6800 ultra or better when the dual core boards come out.

basically i want to know

1.what is the best agp board(probably abit)?
2.is it true that you can have TOO much ram?
3.is turtle beach better than soundblaster?
4when are the dual core boards coming out
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 12:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

whats the speed of the hds though? i wouldnt get them if they are 5400 or below, but if they are 7200+ then that sounds like a good deal, although the company might make bad drives and thats why they are on sale, and if part of the sale includes rebates........man my advice- dont trust rebates ive heard nothing but bad news about them.... and to answer your questions....

1. Abit is a great board for overclocking, i think asus has slightly higher benchmarks(non noticable though), and well MSI has a few good features since some of them have live update, a firewall, and ummmm.....i think dual lan.....

2.Thats a personal decision IMO, i think you can have too much RAM since at this point in time, you dont need much RAM, i think a gig will do very good for just about anything for awhile.....

3.Never heard of turtle beach, but i know if you get a soundblaster, they are good cards and you wont regret it.

4. well, i heard dual core is coming out rather soon....maybe out already, so uummm....i would THINK they would come out with mobos by this summer....

Hope I helped.
__________________

Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

sorry i was wrong there 40 bucks each
they are 7200 rpm western digitals

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1051826249503
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

1. dont know much about mobos
2. Yes, u can have too much ram.. 1GB is plenty, 2GB Is Overkill, anymore you will probly slow down.
3. Soundblaster is the Thermaltake of SoundCards, as in they try n monopolise. Turtle beach are very nice cards n not only cheaper but reccomended by a lot of dj's, producers, etc.
4. Dual boards, same as #1 :P
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 03:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

dont know anything about turtle beach, or much about sound cards either. i hate monopolizing companies such as M$(macs dont run many programs, and cant be customised like a pc can, and linux although growing in popularity and may one day be a deadly rival to M$ for home computers, it needs emulators to rune windows programs and games which are less stable and you have to pay monthly for these emulators....) so i will look into this, see if its worth it, and then post a reply about it.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that's a really good deal, $40 for 160GB Western Digitals
Western Digital is one of the top brands out there. I personally prefer Seagate's and others will prefer WD, but for $40 I'd definately take them

with the motherboard, I would go with the Abit AV8 3rd eye, as you can really overclock with this thing.

also, what brand is the RAM?
I would suggest if you're on a budget, to even get Kingmax RAM. it is not very expensive, but one of the best I've seen when overclocking.
G.Skill RAM overclocks a lot more, but is also a lot mroe expensive

also, how much is this all going to cost?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 12:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

its going to cost around 500 dollars. this is because i was planning on waiting for the dual core boards but my computer just broke so i need to build one right now.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to traviswrx
Default

The HDs are actually only $60 off. It says save UP TO 90. But, for that item its 60 Bucks off.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...lswarrior7.png
PC Specs:
CPU:Intel p4 2.8ghz Northwood.MoBo:Asustek P4sd-le.Ram:G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6 1GB(2x512mb)HDD(s):1:80gb Segate Barracude7200rpm w/8mb cache92:120gb 7200rpm w/8mb cache seagate barracuda\'s Video Card:eVga 6600GTPSU:560w Thermaltake Silent Purepower. Full sleeved.Case:Blue RaidMax Cobra(many mods). Fans:3x80mm blue LED fans.1x 120mm blue LED fan.Misc:

My sig was too big. I put it on a diet. Viva La Firefox!
traviswrx is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

i just overnighted a 3800 from newegg with a msi k8n neo2 platinum and bought the hds(they were only 40 bucks i was right) and a soundblaster 2 zs
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Ugh, doesn't matter if it's cheaper, NEVER get rebates on anything. I have had lousy experience with best buy rebate program and rebates in general. It's a lot less hassle to find somewhere to give you the discount without rebates, or pay the extra money. I have filled out several rebate before and included everything it said to including upc and receipt. And then 5 weeks later they send me a postcard saying that I don't get my money because I failed to include the original UPC, even though I did include it.

:beard:
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.