P5n-d... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2009, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default P5n-d...

Now pending my memtest results (to rule faulty RAM out), flashing my BIOS yet again, and a little more tweaking, I'm going to conclude that the particular board I got is a poor overclocker, or the P5N-D is in general a poor overclocker. Either that or I just got a crappy CPU.

I'm considering getting a new mobo, just because I've had no luck at all with overclocking while using this board. BUT do you think its more likely that my particular CPU itself is a poor when it comes to overclocking? I'm kind of at a loss here, I don't know which of my parts is causing the bottlenecking. (hopefully I'll rule the RAM out)

Any suggestions. Do you guys think its more likely to be my motherboard or CPU?

Current motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131232
__________________

tknick90 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 02:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: P5n-d...

link broke. what cpu do you have? many would recomend the biostar p45 but are you looking for a sli chipset. if so get the 780i.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 02:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: P5n-d...

The P5N-D isn't a bad oc'ing board,It can just be finicky at times

Just grabbed 1 today myself and got my little e2200 up to 3.4ghz no problem
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: P5n-d...

i have a p5n-d and with the latest bios i can get up to 1600FSB on safe volts....

Volts:
nb: 1.46
SB: 1.56
HT: 1.46
Ram/CPU: Auto (stock)

Its a fairly stable board, just not the best overclocker in general. thats not asus' fault. No 750i mobo has a reputation for overclocking well.... try a 780i if you want overclocking, it can do better but it still cant match p45s....if you want SLI, stick to this or a 780i....

Shumway, what voltages do u use for the mobo, out of curiosity...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: P5n-d...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
Shumway, what voltages do u use for the mobo, out of curiosity...
Haven't touched nothing but vcore,Every thing else is on auto
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: P5n-d...

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
link broke. what cpu do you have? many would recomend the biostar p45 but are you looking for a sli chipset. if so get the 780i.
woops forgot to include that, hear are all my specs

MOBO: ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 Kentsfield 2.66 GHz (@3.0 GHz)
GFX CARD: ZOTAC GeForce 9800 GTX AMP! Edition
RAM: CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDRII 800 MHz (@900 MHz)
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600w


And no, I don't need to have SLI.
tknick90 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: P5n-d...

ok.... get your HT and NB volts to 1.46 each, and SB to 1.56v, unlink the RAM and FSB and set ram to about 900 like you already have and set FSB to 1500 QDR. that is a nice safe oc for the P5N-D that is tried and tested with me. since your CPU is 1066 FSB, it should be able to oc more given the 1600-ish limit on the mobo, which i have touched and cant break.... if not, set the volts to 1.4 for NB and HT and get it to 1333Mhz, that should not be stressful at all on the mobo since it can normally handle that speed at stock settings....then push up from there as you wish...thats how i did it anyhow....

if you want a new mobo get yourself a P45 or an X48 depending on the features you want....i'd vote for a P45, and i'll leave it to the intel chipset lovers to direct you to the mobo you should get if you go P45 :P
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: P5n-d...

If you are looking at replacements....
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TPower I45 LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: P5n-d...

Thanks for the suggestions.

Do you think its more likely a problem with my CPU, or my motherboard. I know that's hard to determine without actually messing around the bios yourself, but what would be your best guess?

I've tried messing around with almost everything in the BIOS, the VCORE, the RAM voltage, timings. FSB speeds (obviously). And I haven't had any luck, so my guess is it's the motherboard.
tknick90 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: P5n-d...

I also have the P5N-D and have been able to achieve 3.8ghz with my E8400. Not a bad board at all. I don't flash the BIOS anymore though because I almost bricked it lol.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.