P4 631 OC'd to 8Ghz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2007, 11:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

lol... hilarious, its crazy how far technology has come.. and how little ghz matters...

i remember when 1.8 ghz p4's were amazing...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 02:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

hmmm... wonder why this hasnt been uploaded to hwbot yet?

http://hwbot.org/hallOfFame.do?type=...plicationId=13

they still have their 7.4GHz clock up.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

It takes a while to confirm a world record.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Like I posted in the other thread, a 4Ghz Core 2 Duo matches this. The SuperPi time on that would probably be around 12s or 13s. Its impressive to see, but nothing earth-shattering performance-wise. Just know it won't be setting any world records for anything but clockspeed.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Like I posted in the other thread, a 4Ghz Core 2 Duo matches this. The SuperPi time on that would probably be around 12s or 13s. Its impressive to see, but nothing earth-shattering performance-wise. Just know it won't be setting any world records for anything but clockspeed.
well yea, obviously. but it is still very impressive, is it not?
joshd is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quite.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 12:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

I think that picture is photoshopped. That does NOT look like cpu-z's native font to me.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
Yeah that is an insane OC but what does it mean to real world computing? How many of your friends run liquid nitrogen to cool their systems haha. It seems the P4 has always been Intel's OCer of choice. My take on that is that it's cool to see the max of something like that but it doesn't mean much to me really. Also I wouldn't mind letting Team Italy do a little work on my machine haha, It seems these teams know how to squeeze every inch of performance possible out of every part.
It wasn't done for real-world computing. It was done for bragging rights and for the **** of it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

That OC would yield 15s PI times maybe. And its validated, the screenshot doesnt mean anything.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Then why change cpuz's font?
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.