P4 631 OC'd to 8Ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2007, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default P4 631 OC'd to 8Ghz

http://www.nordichardware.com/news,5505.html
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Is it 100% stable or just stable enough to get a cpu-z screenshot off.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

wow.....mad respect for them and their P4 lol....

edit: thats a huge multiplier.....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Yeah that is an insane OC but what does it mean to real world computing? How many of your friends run liquid nitrogen to cool their systems haha. It seems the P4 has always been Intel's OCer of choice. My take on that is that it's cool to see the max of something like that but it doesn't mean much to me really. Also I wouldn't mind letting Team Italy do a little work on my machine haha, It seems these teams know how to squeeze every inch of performance possible out of every part.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
Yeah that is an insane OC but what does it mean to real world computing? How many of your friends run liquid nitrogen to cool their systems haha. It seems the P4 has always been Intel's OCer of choice. My take on that is that it's cool to see the max of something like that but it doesn't mean much to me really. Also I wouldn't mind letting Team Italy do a little work on my machine haha, It seems these teams know how to squeeze every inch of performance possible out of every part.
i wish i had liquid nitrogen in my rig....!!!
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

I've seen multipliers at like 22x though. But that's one **** of an OC. If it's stable I wonder how well it could compete against the newer Intel processors.

I've got this Dell with that same processor, it's a shame Dell put a lock on the FSB in their BIOS.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It looks like the P4 6 series are some of the highest overclocks, according to the world database at xtremesystems:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=59753
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

i want to see some benchmarks first. if i oc my c2d will it be faster than that p4?
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

I wonder what a 1M superpi time would be at 8ghz lol like 5 seconds?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
i want to see some benchmarks first. if i oc my c2d will it be faster than that p4?
Isn't a c2d up to almost 2.5 times faster than a P4 per ghz in certain programs???
That would mean that 1 core of a c2d at 3.2ghz would be around that P4 in performance depending on what program you were running.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.