P4 3.2Ghz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Question P4 3.2Ghz?

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=c00022505

ok these are the specs for my mobo which came with my HP250N which i have almost completely upgraded since buying. My question is it says that it supports up to 3.2Ghz P4, i was wondering would i be able to get a 3.2 P4 and overclock it to say 3.6 and will it still work or no because it does not support frequencies that high? and also does this make a 3.4 P4 completely out of the questions too?
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yo man, all you had to do was a post a link to newegg with your mobo instead of killing our eyeballs with all this text..

No you will no be able to overclock, when a mobo says it supports up to, that's because their mulitplier will not go any futher, therefore you will not be able to overclock.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

That Springdale 865g Chipset supports up to a 3.2Ghz and overclocking it ...it all depends on your bios..it could work..
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah for real man, give a link or say the complete mobo name.

Demalii, is currect, if that mobo said, up to 3.4ghz, then 3.4ghz would pretty much be its limit. Im pretty positive thats how it works. But if you get that mobo, then your processor is already at the mobo's peak. So if you OC, then your going over the mobo's limit already. Your mobo could get fried at 3.3ghz.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

overclock the cpu u have now
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

all oems the big ones at least lock most of their bios
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

my fsb multiplier is locked in the bios but using cpufsb i do have my processor overclocked, its a P4 2.6HT at 3.1 but i would like something like a 3.2 or 3.4 running at around 3.6 or 3.8.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

i wiould reccomend that u buy a new mobo.. because the mobos that come with prebuilt computers are usually locked in such cases as overclocking.. and even if you do oc... those mobos arent meant to take the extra stress as they are specifically made to the company's standards... so ur safest bet would be to buy a new mobo
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

im already going from 2.6 to 3.2 stable so i dont think overclocking is a problem i just want to know if the motherboard is going to allow me to go any higher than 3.2
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.