P4 3.2 overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2004, 04:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Default P4 3.2 overclock

Can this chip be overclocked?
__________________

Matt222 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

3.2 isnt fast enough for you!?! LOL...look @ me with my 850...wow I feel small :P
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

yes it can by upping the fsb. guys at http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20031230/index.html
went up 2 5ghx not that you have liquid nitrogene
XT is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

hell yea it can be overclocked. you can probably get it to 3.5-6 ghz with a good hsf
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Default

thats 3.5 or 3.6, not 3.5 or 6.0.

And the guys at THG got it up to 5.25
Cetamega is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

If you manage to get 6.0 you'll have beaten THG. Anyhow, the thing is, you probably will not notice much difference in performance. Windows apparently does not run much faster on a 3 GHz then a 2.4 anyway, so why risk burning out your fancy new CPU?
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

yes you can over clock but unless you are doing allor of rendering encoding etc it is not really worth it for general use

I just blew a brand new amd 64 just from trying to get more and more it is an addiction but a new one is in the mail so no problems
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

whoa you are nuts bud what did that cost you?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

0$
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

i got a friend down at the mech who got to 5ghx mark way before thg did. He made this fancy contraption that had 6 h/s on it and seating on the cpu it was really cool. Couldn't get it past that though and it fry's after 2 days huh figuares
__________________

XT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.