p4 3.2 oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default p4 3.2 oc

I just started ocing my processor and i'd like to know if its ok to do so on stock cooling? temps after 2-3 hours gaming in hi res are around 50 and around 45 idle.
my multiplier is 16 so does that mean i dont have to raise the 200 (whatever that is) alot?
thx for ur help
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Those temperatures are alright, but before overclocking I'd strongly reccomend better cooling. Most likely the multiplier is locked so you can't increase it. The 200 is the FSB. Increase that to overclock.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Yes you can OC on stock cooling. You just have to monitor your temps (as you have been doing). Those are pretty good temps for an OC's CPU.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You should be able to get a bit of an OC on stock cooling. I would try to keep it at 60c or below at full load.

The 200 is the fsb. Just increase it in small increments, keeping in mind that eack 1MHz change is 16MHz change for the processor, so at 215 you will be above 3.4GHz. Also keep in mind that this will also be OCing your RAM. You may need to use a multipler on the RAM to get higher speeds from your CPU, but I would recommend just going as far as you can at 1:1.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

whats that about it OCing my ram as well?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You RAM is also linked to the fsb, so when you increase the fsb, the RAM frequency is also increased.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

what voltage would you recommend if i put my fsb to 215 instead of 200?
and what's prime95, how does it work and where can i get it?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

you only increase the voltage of the cpu if it becomes unstable, so when it crashes bump up the voltage a bit. Prime 95 is a program that stresses ur cpu to basicallly the max to see if its a stable overclock. you can download it here

http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zeroordie
what voltage would you recommend if i put my fsb to 215 instead of 200?
and what's prime95, how does it work and where can i get it?
I would not touch the voltage until you get stability issues. I get my 2.8 to 3.6ghz without touching the voltage.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 04:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I see your sig says this:

MSI GeForce 6600 OC - PCI X


You realize PCI-X and PCI-E are two completely different things right?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.