overclok'n a duron 800Mhz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 05:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default overclok'n a duron 800Mhz

i hav a duron 800Mhz i hav made the fsb 105 (norm 100)
i will go furter but i wana kno if it cood any chance at all damage my other hardware.

h.ds
agp, gpu
pci netwrk card
pci sound
ram?
ummm?

Zimon
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

it's possible to damage your other hardware if your PSU fails, or you up the voltage too much...but not too likely if all your doing is going 5mhz above stock.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

if your board does not support locking the pci/AGP bus then you can destroy the rest of your components easily, if you do not see an option for this in your BIOS it is a safe bet that you can't do it and should avoid changing the FSB at the risk of your graphics card and all your PCI cards... you may want to just look into a new motherboard.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

i cant lock the pci/agp so il just leave it a 840Mhz a 5% overclock
thankz heeeps guys

Zimon
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Everytime your computer runs faster you run a wicked chance of damage (unless you have a proper cooling system).
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

I fried my graphic card and sound card back then while o/cing my duron 700. these boards don't come with a lock, so take care
__________________
Find a Web Host
Brian911 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 06:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

ok i put it bak but if i just stuk a crappy pci card in a c how far i cood go wood that b an idea? i hav a good cooler cpu now is 27c
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

i would advise against it, because although you could put in an inexpensive pci card, you could still damage your 5200. dont fry my old Duron simon
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

You COULD burn up everything in the rig including the fans, heck i've seen people blow wall sockets before. but it's not likely...
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 03:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

ok,

Zimon
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.