Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2007, 08:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

My computer recently crashed and I had to get my motherboard fixed. The computer repair shop said a capictor is about to go as well but It should work for ahwile longer. It seems like every since I have gotten it back that my speeds of running applications, etc has been slow. I have the following components:

256DDR2100-N -- 256MB PC-2100 Double Data Rate (DDR) 184-pin (32x64) RAM Ė 2 sticks

ABIT NF7-S V2 Socket A (Socket 462) NVIDIA nForce2 SPP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

AMD Mobile Athlon XP-M 2400+ (45W) Barton 1.8GHz Socket A Processor Model AXMH2400FQQ4C - OEM
Item #: N82E16819103400


What should my overclocking settings be in my BIOS? I lost them when they fixed it and the motherboard will not automatically set the speed, that is why I am thinking it is slow... Thanks for the help!
__________________

blakeas is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

Get some better speed Ram

PC2100 is SLOWWWWWW pc2700 is better ...
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

OK - that is what I thought I needed to do but in the meantime what should the BIOS settings be?

secondly - how do I know my MOBO supports PC2700?
blakeas is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

It will take any memory DDR up to 400MHZ so you can have PC3200 Max in there !! u can get atleast 4GB in that board

Check here
NF7-S Overview - Universal abit USA
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

so I should get this?

Newegg has the Crucial 1GB 184-Pin DDR 400 (PC 3200) SDRAM Desktop Memory for $58 - $15MIR = $43 w/ free shipping
blakeas is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

Yeh go for it m8 !!! that will give you 2GB then do you already have a GIG ? just keep the other memory in ur PC aswell
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 08:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

Since I have 2 sticks of 256 - can I use this new memory in conjuction with that? I have 3 slots of memory space....

does it matter that it is SDRAM?
blakeas is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 09:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS?

mixing ram when overclocking (even when not) is generally a bad idea.

Honestly I wouldn't put any more money into that puter....I think it's time for an upgrade.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM
can't get into bios mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-22-2007 10:11 PM
Ideal settings for my LCD screen? Forcemaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-01-2007 06:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.