Overclocking (weird) problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2005, 04:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Overclocking (weird) problem

Hi all,

i'm quite new to overclocking since it's my first attempt to do that. Here is my config :

CPU Athlon 64 3000+
Mother board ASUS A8N-E
1Go RAM Samsung

Using ClockGen I managed to get a 300MHz FSB with RAM at 133Mhz , HTT 3x and VCore at 1.4V. So my CPU was running at 2.7GHz and for what i can say it was stable (super_pi worked and also sandra). I decided to set those parameter (FSB speed) into the bios, but then i could not go beyond 220MHz cause the computer didn't start, it hangs on the step "listing pci devices" just before launching Windows.

Even at 220MHz when I launch ClockGen, it says that the FSB is still at 200 . Can't understand what is happening there, did i forget something ? Did you have any idea ?


Sphax is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3

For those who are interested, the problem comes from the A8N-E, I finally found this thread and it works ! Weird I told you. Right now i'm running at 285Mhz FSB , 266 (or 133) MHz RAM VCore at 1.375V . This gives us a CPU at quite 2.6GHz . I'm sure i can go litle more by increasing the VCore but i don't know if it's a good idea.

Sphax is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

why dont you just OC through the bios and not through windows?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Your better off doing this in the bios rather than through the O/S. Your taking more of a risk.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3

Oups, i probably didn't make myself clear. In fact i wanted to overclock in the bios, but i firstly tested what my system can afford with ClockGen, to not repetedly start and stop my computer each time i increase the FSB by 5MHz. The problem was that with ClockGen i could reach more than 280MHz FSB but then when trying to apply this into the bios, the computer didn't start ! Then I found the solution... Hope I'm clear now, sorry for my english, not my native langage .
Sphax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.