overclocking video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2004, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default overclocking video card

i want to overclock my radeon 9600XT, in my ATI settings under that overdrive setting, it says that its running at about 41C for the temp, and 526hz for the "Overdrive level". are these good stats? i've never really tried to overclock my video card, what is a good program? should i add a fan right under it to keep it running cool?
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Overdrive is worthless, turn it off and save yourself from having to think about it.

Rage3D:
http://www.rage3d.com/index.php?node=r3dtweak

Power Strip:
http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm

Both are good, although I've tried Rage3D, I ended up liking Power Strip better, but I got tired of it so I removed it from my computer, no need to overclock my card anyways, I saw hardly any increase so...

And Telemundo, please your card is at 41C... mine is at 69C right now, if you would prefer to add more cooling, go for it, but you're not going to need any extra cooling on that card.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

alright, i downloaded powerstrip, what can i boost my Engine Clock speed and my Memory speed up to? also, how can you get an accurate display of your card's temperature? i was just using the overdrive one, but what do you use?
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea the overdrive uses the sensor on the card to tell the temp, so that's the best temp display to use. As for overclocking, doing it in increments is the best way to do it so you don't harm you card. Do each one like 10 mhz today, then tomorrow do another 10, etc... but if you really want to just push it and not do a burn in process, just push each one up 10mhz at a time (more or less) until you notice unstable patterns (ie. artifacts, frame rate loss) then once you hit the point of your card running unstable, lower the speeds till you find your max, then typically drop it down a few mhz to be on the safe side.
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

i advise u not to overclock the card.
Bcosz the card is already a overclock version from 9600.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

i also want to overclock my Radeon 9800 pro..
Greentea08 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 11:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

i actually wanna overclock my cpu.. is a P4 2.0
__________________

Greentea08 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.