Overclocking the vid card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 08:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

also if you want to get the most out of your card in rivera tuner you will need to disable the internal clock test. Master Jason gave a brief explanation a while ago that worked for me

use Rivatuner 2.0 RC15.3 > go into Power User> then Nvidia \ Overclocking and change

DisableInternalClockTest to 1

u will still need to click the test button and wait a couple of secs but it won't ever fail it

mine fails the test at 1.23mem and runs 05 looping for hours and hours at 1.303
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it's "Nibitor" not nubitor....and after extensive testing done by me and a couple other people at Xtremesystems, it seems modding in your own hex to change the voltages on the 6600GTs doesn't work at all.

The 6800GT's however, already have a voltage option in which you can select from a table...so no you can't raise the voltage with nibitor on a 6600GT
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

k srry from what i had heared it worked il edit
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

I think your pretty safe overclocking with coolbits. It will force you to test the settings before you can apply them, and it wont take the settings if there too much for the card. Like if you turn the settings up high and then test you will see the screen flash with artifacts/lines across it, then it will say test faild and reset your card to the last speed it passed at.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

yea cool bits is safe but my card passes the test at 600/1.6 but artifacts in anything and fails at 579/1.3 and does loops of 3dmark05 easy
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I'm just gonna start overclocking the vid card now. What can I expect?
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

...550/1000 thats probably the basics, you will probably get more

*i dont have a 6600GT and i dont konw what im talking about. this is what i think
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 08:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Rivatuner does the same 'force you to test' as coolbits
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 09:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Is 80*C at load too high?
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 09:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

lol, REDUK has his video card at like 20C, but 80C is fine. i see people with around 100C video cards.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.