Overclocking Utilities.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 05:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You can overclock just fine, but reducing the mutipliers of the FSB and on AMD CPU mutipliers. Sorry to imply that you could overclock period.
I knew you didn't mean OC period, but you didn't say like "Nforce sucks compared to chipsets", you just said they suck at OCing which is more of an opinion than fact.


Quote:
but when I mean overclocking I mean not changing anything but the FSB speed.
Yeah that's what I do. 236x10.5 currently, stock speed is 1.8GHz that makes it 2.478GHz with a 472MHz FSB

This CPU can hit 2.7GHz but I think 2.6GHz with a 470 approx. FSB is about the most stable it can get.

Dale - Generally there is an option in regards to RAM that'll let you choose 'User Define, By SPD, Expert' something like that, the By SPD should make it follow the CPU's HTT, but the main purpose of the SPD is that the RAM has a little 'BIOS' on it if you will that tells it at what timings to run depending on the MHz. That's why when you underclock RAM you'll see timings change on their own, thats the SPD at work
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 06:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
The only other competitor chipset for AMD is Via, and that chipset absolutely sucks.

Ummm - no it doesn't.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 06:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Ummm - no it doesn't.
Ummmm yeah it does lol. I've had both via and nforce chipset boards, via sucks.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Default

You are intitled to your own opinion.
Jesse999 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 02:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jesse999
You are intitled to your own opinion.
That isn't quite true. The internet is not a part of the US

If that were true you could say whatever you wanted and no one could ban you.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 05:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jesse999
I have done lots of research on this one. It will overclock, but not as well as other chip sets will.
that's dumb

and a via chipset will OC better?

OCing depends on your cooling and products used (ram, cpu, etc.)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 05:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You are intitled to your own opinion.
Yeah exactly, so him saying 'Umm no they dont' was pointless, because obviously I was stating my opinion based on experience that via sucks.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well I can't seem to figure out the whole SPD thing or whatever for the ram. But I went ahead and overclock it a little further to 1.943 ghz. But when I check CPU-Z on the Memory tab it says the frequency is 217mhz. So I think maybe the RAM automatically clocked itself to match the CPU clock I set in order to maintain the 1:1 ratio, is this possible? However under the SPD tab when I view an individual RAM slot it states the frequency as 200mhz.
So I'm a little confused.

I did bench it again on the 1.943 ghz though, scored an even 5000 on 3dmark05, so it definitely did improve about 200 points.


Btw I didn't change any voltages. I don't know when I should do that.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

My board does that automatically untill the ram cant go any farther.... It only goes as far as it can with out the BIOS/RAM messing up...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Ok, that would be cool if it did do that. I was just wondering why CPU-Z reads it as 217mhz in one tab and then 200mhz in the other?
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.