overclocking thus far - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default overclocking thus far

OK, firstly i will list my specs:
8800gts 320mb
q6600 @ 2.4 ghz
2gb of 800mhz gskill memory
antec 900 case
stock cooling

i have only over clocked my gpu to 594/900 and it runs at about 70*C (130*F).
I tried to over clock my fsb and memory, but it will only let me overclock it to 2.59 ghz and nothing more. Do i have to change the voltages to get it above this point, and if so, how high can i get it and the memory on stock cooling?
__________________

1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Re: overclocking thus far

Also, is it better to up the fsb + memory linked or unlinked?
__________________

1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: overclocking thus far

the GPU temp is fine... it goes pretty near 90 degrees on Load... so thats fine.. if you have thermal paste leftover, i highly recommend you pull off the heatsink and put the new thermal paste on it to drop temps a bit, and it'll also cause it to be softer...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking thus far

What mobo are you using, that is going to make a HUGE difference in your overclocking abilities. Also, if you redo the TIM on the video card with AS5 you should see about 10C drop in temps, and even lower if you have a fan blowing nice fresh air from outside the case right onto the card. My GTS never breaks 70C when gaming.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Re: overclocking thus far

My mobo is a p5ne-sli
1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Re: overclocking thus far

Excuse my lack of intelligence but wtf is TIM and AS5
1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking thus far

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337infamous View Post
Excuse my lack of intelligence but wtf is TIM and AS5
TIM - Thermal Interface Material

AS5 - Arctic Silver 5
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Re: overclocking thus far

nice, thanks. how about these now:
I tried to over clock my fsb and memory, but it will only let me overclock it to 2.59 ghz and nothing more. Do i have to change the voltages to get it above this point, and if so, how high can i get it and the memory on stock cooling?
1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking thus far

I have the P5N-E SLI motherboard too, so maybe I can give some tips.

I think it's better to unlink the FSB and RAM, but still set them to the same speed, for a 1:1 ratio. At least, thats how I do it.

If you haven't touched your voltages yet, I think the stock CPU voltage is 1.3? So increase by one notch. I think it's 1.30625v. And you should set the NB Core voltage to 1.393v, to get the ball rollin'. I found this helps at the beginning. Set your RAM voltage to stock 2.1v

edit: I noticed, you're overclocking with the stock cooler. OK, as long as the temperatures of the CPU are alright, it's ok for the voltages to go up a little. If not, don't touch the voltages. You really should get something, like a Tuniq, when overclocking the Q6600.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.