Overclocking Sujestions. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 02:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

look at the core temps, they seem okay to me. they will be better with an aftermarket hsf.
basically, look at increasing the voltage like this:
by the time your computer dies from being hotter than normal, it will be completely obsolete. dont worry about it.
ds3 supports 1066 FSB. the standard for it is ddr2-800, so it SHOULD support ddr2-667. ususally you can use slower RAM than standard, but not faster.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 02:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

The DS3 of coarse does run ram faster than DDR2-800...at least it will once the ram is overclocked of coarse. DDR2 standard is not too much to worry about really..most ram wil work.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 06:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

haha kman, gotta laugh at the title, man. on a side note, were you on isketch before??
plant is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by plant View Post
haha kman, gotta laugh at the title, man. on a side note, were you on isketch before??
A) I dont know what your on about, lol . Whats so 'Ha Ha'
B) Why does Isketch have anything to do with this ?, and what is it !?!
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 09:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
The DS3 of coarse does run ram faster than DDR2-800...at least it will once the ram is overclocked of coarse. DDR2 standard is not too much to worry about really..most ram wil work.

i didnt know you could get a ddr2-800 standard board and put ddr2-1066 in it and it would work at 1066 mhz?
is that the case my friend?
i thought the mobo would (automatically) slow it down to ddr2-800. then if you overclock it, yes of course it would run it faster. i guess what i am saying is that it would post at ddr2-800 speeds. i guess you could overclock the s*it out of ddr2-1066 on a ddr2-800 standard mobo. or not really overclock it but run up your fsb w/out having to worry about loosening the timings. that makes sense. i totally feel like i am talking to myself, lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 12:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
Yea...trying to overclock with a stock cooler is like jumping in the shower with your pants on.
Hhahah lmao...i've never heard someone come up with that analogy.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 01:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Overclocking Sujestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie_da_man View Post
Hhahah lmao...i've never heard someone come up with that analogy.
well....it's true. There's NO way you will get a max OC with stock cooling, unless you use some sort of 3rd solution.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista overclocking reggie_da_man Overclocking and Modding 6 04-13-2007 02:24 PM
Overclocking on a Non O/C enabled Mobo. Oreo Overclocking and Modding 2 04-02-2007 06:21 AM
overclocking stability problems... b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 11 03-27-2007 09:11 PM
Overclocking my x1950pro iNternal Overclocking and Modding 9 03-25-2007 07:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.