overclocking specifics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default overclocking specifics

I recently read up on overclocking, and with several articles from here, majorgeeks and wikipedia I know everything I need to know. Congrats on making it so easy to learn.

But my recent experiences and what I've read conflict. Overclocking is sending more voltage to a certain part, and what I've read says that you can go as high as you want if you've got the proper cooling. But whenever I go too high, my computer just restarts. My guess is my Nvidia chipset motherboard has security to it? If it's any help, I cheated by using the Ntune program lol.
__________________

__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

There always is a limit. No matter what. The best you can do is have really good cooling and all the best combinations of components. But there is a limit.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you dont up voltage until the higher MHZ become an unstable ratio. You arent really testing your system for stability are you. go up about 10hmz from stock settings on the cpu core and then run p95 just google it and download it. If it is stable for more than like 8 hours and hasnt failed the testing make sure temps are ok and go up a little more.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

Theres a limit to how much youu overclock a video card, but if you have a fan for your video card overclocking is an awesome idea to speed up your PC. Even though it shortens your video card life expectancy its worth it for the extra boost, I believe I overheard that overclocking increases the value because of the extra GPU speed (don't know if it fact or myth).
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

I do run stability tests, but not for 8 hours...
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default

an easy way ive found to do it is to google "overclock xxxx" with xxxx being the model you want to overclock. do that for your cpu, video card, and memory and you can usually find someone who has OCed your component and found a relatively stable OC. it cuts so much time out of it. For me thats a good starting place. do that and then run stability tests overnight or something. after that you should have a nicely OCed system that you can then tinker with to get the last bit out of it.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 11:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bzflag
an easy way ive found to do it is to google "overclock xxxx" with xxxx being the model you want to overclock. do that for your cpu, video card, and memory and you can usually find someone who has OCed your component and found a relatively stable OC. it cuts so much time out of it. For me thats a good starting place. do that and then run stability tests overnight or something. after that you should have a nicely OCed system that you can then tinker with to get the last bit out of it.
...But seeings every OC is different, you could just go up incrementally and test for stability, so you know you got a GOOD OC, not just a guess.

If you're going to be lazy about OC'ing, then don't even bother with it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

it is typically your ram that keeps you from overclocking higher. i dont think anyone's taken the x2 3800+ past 2.61GHz... i have liquid cooling on mine and it never gets over 30*C so i have plenty of cooling, but my ram quits on me if i go any higher... i could probably squeaze another .05GHz or so out of it w/ ddr500 ram, but its not worth another 250 bucks
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bzflag
an easy way ive found to do it is to google "overclock xxxx" with xxxx being the model you want to overclock. do that for your cpu, video card, and memory and you can usually find someone who has OCed your component and found a relatively stable OC. it cuts so much time out of it. For me thats a good starting place. do that and then run stability tests overnight or something. after that you should have a nicely OCed system that you can then tinker with to get the last bit out of it.
and also it is probably pretty hard to find an exact (cpu, mobo, ram, psu, etc) setup as your own.
i know that certain people have achieved higher overclocks with my same cpu using a different mobo, some less with othe ram, etc etc etc.

cwiz i got a reply to one of my other posts by a guy who said he got stable 2.84 out of his 3800 with an asus m2n-e.
but i didn't ask for evidence! lol
i think my mobo is what is stopping me...my ram rips and is stable at over 500mhz with enough juice. i think my pinche board is not going to let me get past 2.8 and be stable...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

my theory of OC limits is what I read was regarding older technology, where you force an OC, as opposed to OC compatible hardware. The companies have fail-safe limits built in so you dont break it, call them and sue them.
__________________

__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.