overclocking a soundcard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sonanse Send a message via Yahoo to sonanse
Default overclocking a soundcard?

well some of you people might of heard about the Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty with 64mb of ram. Although i don't have this card i wonders if it could be overclocked like cpu,ram,or gcard. it has the same kinda of things going on, even thought it would be pointless to do....
__________________

__________________
Gcard:XFX Geforce GeForce 7900 GT EXTREME (520MHz)
Ram:PNY OPTIMA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR
cpu:AMD Athlon 64 3700 2.2ghz oc to 2.4ghz
psu:ASPIRE ATX-AS520W
mobo:BIOSTAR TForce6100
please don\'t ***** about how laggy you are on FEAR i beat the game on 640x480 at 20fps!! old computer(pci radeon 9250)

so please save your computer hardship about framerates unless your have a card lower than this
sonanse is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 03:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe it's possible, although I doubt it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 04:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhhh yea, overclock the pci bus I guess, but I don't think it'd help fps any. Don't know if there would be any way to oc the audio chip, or the ram individually.
Sui is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i don't think it would be a good idea even if it is possible. the way the cards are set up i think overclocking would throw the synch on the dynamic range of the sound out
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

This is actually overclocking a sound card. However the X-Fi's don't have these options.

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

What card is that?
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sonanse Send a message via Yahoo to sonanse
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dante_Caligari
What card is that?
well..i'm not going to say anything


but for the people above this person i think you are proably right just wanted another prospective on this
__________________
Gcard:XFX Geforce GeForce 7900 GT EXTREME (520MHz)
Ram:PNY OPTIMA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR
cpu:AMD Athlon 64 3700 2.2ghz oc to 2.4ghz
psu:ASPIRE ATX-AS520W
mobo:BIOSTAR TForce6100
please don\'t ***** about how laggy you are on FEAR i beat the game on 640x480 at 20fps!! old computer(pci radeon 9250)

so please save your computer hardship about framerates unless your have a card lower than this
sonanse is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

why would you want to? i doubt it'd make much difference.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 03:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Huh,

Ya that seems rather poinltess to me.

A sound card is a soung card, unless you're doing like, hardcore sound stuff. But even then, I dont see a point
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.