Overclocking Socket A Sempron 2500+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Question Overclocking Socket A Sempron 2500+

Ive been messing around with my sempron 2500+ trying to overclock it. Im wondering what is the highest voltage i can safely pump through the core of this cpu? Im am aware that the multiplier is locked at 10.5x. The cpu bus is 166Mhz and with my abit mobo the FSB is a ratio of the cpu bus so i can safely overclock the CPU without puting stress on my PCI southbridge and controllers. The AGP is also locked at 66Mhz and i can bump it up to 99Mhz if I wish. I am kinda wanting to get this CPU from 1750Mhz to around 2200Mhz. I have read forums about people who have done it but they didnt give any details as to what their voltages etc. were. Any help would be greatly apreciated.

Thank you.

PS my system specs are in my sig.
__________________

__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Read the sticky at the top of this forum.
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22031
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 05:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Alright i bumped up my CPU bus to 180Mhz from 166Mhz and my core voltage from 1.6 to 1.625. My CPU is now clocked at 1902Mhz. I am running Prime95 right now to see how stable my system is.
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

I was wondering, how would i go about checking my PCI bus speed? My motherboard doesnt seem to show it in the bios? Anyone know of any programs that i can look at the clocks of my system in windows?
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.