Overclocking Sempron 2600+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2007, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Overclocking Sempron 2600+

(Moving this from another thread to keep that thread on topic)

I just got a Sempron 2600+ (1.6GHz stock) Socket 754 CPU and Foxconn motherboard (see my sig). I'm trying to get the most I can from it, and that means giving it a bit of an overclock. My motherboard has an option to simply set the CPU speed (default 200) in the BIOS or with the included SuperStep utility. In the following pictures (from 0, 7, and 10 minutes), I show the three utilities on the screen: SuperStep utility, PC Wizard 2008, and the stress test utility. Oddly, PC Wizard and SuperStep report vastly different temp's for CPU and system (note the "?" in the first pic).

Note that I'm using stock cooler, a plain heatsink with fan and stock thermal paste. I also have a rear case fan directed outside of the case right by the CPU. The PSU has 2 fans. The Ext. CPU Freq. is at 225 (MHz apparently).

A: Is this a safe OC as is now?

B: Can I OC a bit more, say, maybe to 2.0GHz?


CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

Went into my BIOS and disabled "Smart Fan Control," this means that the fans run at constant full speed rather than varying speed depending on temperature. The fans spin roughly twice as fast and the CPU stays around 23 to 25 at 1840MHz on stress tests. However, the utility doesn't seem to want to go beyond 232, thus limiting the CPU to 1857 or so MHz. I guess that works, it's sure better than 1.6, but I don't know what this CPU can handle. I haven't had any weird issues at 1.8GHz though and the temps are good, so I assume it's working.


CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

ignore my last post...
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

733RPM? thats really slow man , disable speed fan controller and get a bigger heatsink for around $20

in average it should be running around 1600RPM
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

PC Wizard was reporting way off. The SpeedStep utility was saying reporting 1500-ish RPM with motherboard's "Automatic Fan Control" on and 3000 RPM with it off. The SpeedStep readout matches the readout of the BIOS'es "PC Health Status" menu, and SpeedFan reports the correct reading ONLY when the Automatic Fan Control is off. I think it's an issue of how the BIOS handles sensors or something, the chipset is an SiS 755 Northbridge and SiS 964 Southbridge, and SpeedFan was unable to determine chipset type, so maybe it's not well supported.

When Automatic Fan Control is off, you can feel the air coming out of the case, it is quite strong. I have two fans, a rear case fan (that was already in the case from the old board) and a CPU fan that came with the heatsink. Both of them run loud and fast when speed control is off.

Here's what the BIOS says:

Here's a comparison of the (entirely different) readouts of SuperStep, PCWizard 2008, and SpeedFan:

When I disable Smart Fan Control, the BIOS readings say around 3000RPM and SpeedFan and SuperStep show the same values. PCW2008 continues to show a completely (about half as fast as the others state) different reading.

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

I've got it running at 1.84GHz stable at 31 degrees under 100% load (left it on overnight running F@H, every time I checked on it's temp it was 30 or 31 degrees C). I can get it up to 1856MHz using the SuperStep utility, but I can't seem to get it any higher. Is there any other OC'ing software that could possibly get this board beyond 230 or 235MHz FSB? I'm not sure if it's FSB or not though, it's just the base CPU speed, the RAM and AGP are running the same speed no matter what I set CPU to.

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
hmammen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

all i say is goodluck...i couldnt do **** with my old sempron 3000.

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

ram. set your ram multiplier down.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: Overclocking Sempron 2600+

I don't think the motherboard's SiS755 is going to help you out much.

I used to have a Foxconn NF4UK8AB and a Sempron 2800+ (1.6GHZ, 256kb L2 cache)

I was able to overclock the thing to 2.24GHZ.
The Nforce4 chips are much better for overclocking the socket 939 or 754 chips.

One thing you could try is lowering the HTT multiplier, if that's possible on your motherboard.

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 06:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 09:37 AM
ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT and 2600 Pro Review veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 06-30-2007 02:45 AM
Overclocking a Sempron 3000+ The Zune Guy Overclocking and Modding 8 05-20-2007 09:00 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.