Overclocking Screw-up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2005, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Question Overclocking Screw-up

This morning I was messing around on my machine trying to optimize it so I could play a game I have, Counter-Strike: Source, more smoothly. I went in to the BIOS and went into the menu where you can adjust your processor settings. I increased what I think was the front side bus (FSB) from 101 MHz to 110 MHz. Windows loads normally and my CPU’s clock speed jumps from 2.1 GHz to 2.3 GHz. I decide to take it up another notch and repeat the process… this time increasing it to 120 MHz. After I save changes, the screen goes black, but my computer is still running. I manually reboot it and I didn’t hear the normal two beeps that usually sound when I start it. This time I only heard one. After the beeps, I never saw anything on the screen. I don’t know if the BIOS even loaded. What happened?

Possible problems:
- Fried processor: This is a concern I have heard about overclocking from the beginning. I have heard horror stories about them heating up and then melting. I am not sure if this is the case or not because it was only a split second after I saved my settings that the screen went black.
- Fried RAM – Tweaktown.com says, “Let me explain why, when you overclock the FSB, you are also, indirectly, overclocking your RAM. So, say for example you have PC100 memory and want to adjust the FSB from 100MHz to 112MHz you are in fact overclocking the PC100 memory to 112MHz… Now however, it is very important to buy branded, fast memory, which has been pre-tested to run a certain speeds… It could also be that your ram is well, crap (couldn’t have said it better myself Junkz). If you buy cheap, unbranded memory you will pay the price with not being able to overclock it much or in some cases not at all.” This would make sense because of the missing 2nd beep I receive when I start my computer.
- Graphic card problem – This could be the problem because my computer sounds like it is running normally (other than the second beep) when I turn it on. It would make sense that I wouldn’t see anything if overclocking affected my graphics card. Going back to the two magical beeps, I thought I should note that when I upgraded to a RADEON 9550 from some stock NVIDIA card, the beeps also changed. Whenever I start up my computer with my new card in, the two beeps were farther apart than before. Tweaktown.com says, “So, basically when you overclock the FSB you are also changing the AGP / PCI and ISA buses - some of these devices don’t like to be overclocked and will result in your system not booting or crashing.”

Possible Solutions:
- Replace my system RAM with some different RAM, and see if my computer boots.
- Flashing or zapping PRAM on my motherboard. I don’t know much about this but this is mentioned in my motherboard’s instruction booklet and a teacher also told me he had to do this when his computer would not boot.


JONSKIJET is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Since you dident mention anything about voltage, im guessing you dident raise it any. You also have to increase your DDRV. The faster a component runs, the more voltage it needs. Voltage is what makes your OC stable. Without voltage, your system has no fuel to run at these speeds.

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

You should never OC if you don't know what you're doing dude.

Reset your CMOS and everything should be fine. Read the basics of overclocking if you want to do that
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Yeah look in your manual on howto reset the CMOS
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40

i think its taking out the battery and taking out the ram for a min or so and put everything back in. this should run BIOS in defualt. im pretty sure thats how it is on all mobos but i could be wrong.
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205

take out the battery for about 5-10 mins, there may also ber a number nearby with 3 pins (the jumper covering two) and slide it onto the pins not covered then back. this also resets bios. Once done your pc will be totally fine.

dakta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.